We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ml3369
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My friend and I had such a memorable time at this stunning Cortijo. The setting alone is amazing - wonderful views of the Alpujarras from the property. But what makes it super-special is the lovely accommodation. We were warmly welcomed by the hosts and they did everything they could during our stay to make sure we had everthing we needed. The building is beautiful and the apartment was simply furnished and very authentic. There's a peacefulness about Cortijo Opazo, and that peace seeps into your bones and brings with it so much relaxation.

The walks - straight trom the door in many cases - are spectacular and the hosts are on hand with as much information as you could possibly hope for the make the most of the time there.

The weather was patchy when we were there, as it was far from high-season, but it would take more than patchy weather to get in the way of having a lovely time here. Just sitting on the terrace outside the apartments, taking in the view with a glass of wine, enjoying the peace of the location - it was blissful. In fact, just thinking about it reminds me to make another booking soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself, its location and the hosts.
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Relaxation does seem to be unavoidable here for our guests. Glad you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Mar 2013
We are very sorry that the weather spoilt your enjoyment of a holiday in the Alpujarras but are pleased that you found the accommodation comfortable. On our website we try our best to give month by month guidance as to what conditions may expected. Cortijo Opazo is, after all, in the mountains of the Sierra Nevada and not on the Costa del Sol where the expectation is often one of constant sunshine. We try to help you anticipate the weather by sending you a link in advance to a local forecast website which guests can consult on a daily basis whilst staying here via the freely available wi-fi. November is our ‘low’ season and this is reflected in the cheaper price. At least with the under floor central heating and supply of logs for the stove you weren’t cold, and we hope that the selection of reading books, games and DVDs helped you pass the time until the sun returned. We certainly remember how you expressed your enjoyment of the home cooked meal we served for you in the accommodation on the night of your arrival.

Your advice is good, guests need to check very carefully from the information on our own website that they are booking the accommodation and location that is right for them, especially if booking via an agency - the website link is given on all correspondence. As for what you can see from El Lujar, this remains as described on the website, views into the garden and beyond towards the hillside and village of Pitres . We are sorry if low cloud prevented you from appreciating this, but we are situated at a height of 1250 metres above sea level.

Regarding the mistake with your accommodation on the first night, we remember this well, it was our fault, it was the first time anything like this had ever happened and we were concerned to make things right for you both. The confusion happened when you arrived two hours before the 4.00pm arrival time and instead of asking you to come back later we welcomed you with an offer of a complimentary glass of wine and showed you into what turned out to be the wrong letting, La Corona. If guests request an early arrival in advance we do our best to accommodate, but on this occasion we were thrown into confusion. The mistake was ours and we did what we could to rectify it. The next day, when we realised what had happened, we felt duty bound to change your lodgings - both according to your choice and the choice of the other guests who were due to arrive that day. Late in morning we knocked on your door to ask if you wouldn’t mind moving and your husband assured us that it wasn’t a problem, that you would willingly swap apartments since you too had realised the error. We felt that the situation was resolved and gave you a bottle of wine to thank you for your understanding, not as compensation. We continued to enquire during your stay as to whether everything was OK - as we do with all our guests. Had we known you still felt aggrieved we would have done whatever we could to rectify the matter in preference to simply reading about it in a review posted five months later. Like all successful businesses we take the satisfaction of our guests very seriously and are disappointed we did not have the opportunity at the time to ensure that you left Cortijo Opazo thoroughly enchanted. We would make every effort to put this matter right if you were to return here one day.

Not withstanding, we take your comments on board and we appreciate the time you took to write your review. All of our guests, without exception, should have the best holiday experience possible, and your judgement of ‘poor’ will remain a salutary low point on a business built up over ten years during which we have always strived to be attentive to the wishes of our clients.

Robert and William
Owners of Cortijo Opazo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kate h
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back again”
Reviewed 21 December 2012 for a stay in May 2011

I note other reviewers haven't had the fully catered guieded walking tour which is offered at the Cortijo, so some words about our experience of this- in a nutshell wonderful, and better than we could possibly have imagined. Daily walk tailored to our interests and fitness level - when my husband hurt his knee they rearranged the plans to include some easier walks and even lent him their walking poles! Driven to the start of each walk and picked up at the end with no fuss, interestingly varied fresh lunches packed into containers for us each morning, and we were never left hungry at the end of a walk. William and Robert prepared evening meals of local produce as good as if not better than what you would expect in a restaurant, and brought them to whatever sunny corner of the garden we decided to set up in. And generous breakfast provisions including fresh eggs for us to boil ourselves for breakfast each day too! Much has been said about Robert and William's warm manner and expertise as hosts, and it is all true. Brilliant value for money, we honestly could not recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being treated like valued friends from day one, with nothing too much trouble to ask
Liked least: The only thing less than outstanding was the mattress which was a bit saggy - can't have a perfect score on everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisM51
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Glorious Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and were not up to the more serious walks - but toured the local villages by car, ate like kings for very little (especially when Robert and William cooked) and loved sitting on the hillside gazing at the views, reading and sketching. The apartment was beautifully decorated with local rugs and pottery and very, very comfortable. The information provided by the owners was excellent and significantly improved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and serenity of the apartment and surroundings
Liked least: Driving on mountain roads in the mist
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transpare...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cortijo in an incredible setting”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Cortijo Opazo is without doubt one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever stayed in. Situated in the High Alpujarra it has commanding views of the mountains and valleys to the South, with the snow-capped peaks of the Sierra Nevada as a backdrop. The Cortijo itself is set in beautifully maintained gardens and has every convenience you could ever want. Its location makes it the ideal place for exploring the white villages of the Alpujarra and despite its remote location it is easily accessible via very good roads. We split our time between sightseeing and just relaxing and enjoying the views. The owners were very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly – yet let us have our privacy. They were available if needed for advice, otherwise you wouldn’t have known they were there. Although we didn’t take advantage of it, they do offer guided walks which must be a wonderful way to experience the amazing scenery of the region. You can pay for them to cook you a meal on the patio – which I thoroughly recommend as the food was of excellent quality and the portions generous. All in all it was a memorable stay and I plan on returning again as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The location, the beauty of the surroundings, the welcome of the hosts - all perect.
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing