We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable and compact little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milburn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Breakfast on Bed (Bed included but Breakfast down to you)
Philosophical House Rules - you must obey!
Celebration times come on!
Its wine o'clock (but there's a kettle too for Tea Totallers)
Romantic Hideaway
En-suite with shower & heated towel rail (be careful when touching your toes in the morning)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bellingham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katiesuel...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable and compact little cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a one week stay at The Old Workshop and must say that we had a fantastic holiday. The cottage itself is cosy and compact and is fitted out and furnished to a high standard. It is situated close to the centre of Bellingham so is convenient for all the amenities offered in this village but is also tucked away in the lower part of a square so is not noisy. Bellingham itself is a great base to explore Northumberland but is especially convenient for The Kielder Forest area and Hadrians Wall. We booked a Dark Skies experience at the Kielder Observatory and enjoyed this enormously. We also enjoyed many walks both local and further away. A trip to the area around Craster and Seahouses was a highlight and the area around Rothbury is also worth a visit. In Bellingham itself, we recommend Carriages Tea Room next to the Heritage Centre and The Cheviot Hotel for evening meals. We shall certainly return to the area and this little cottage in particular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tasteful and modern conversion
Liked least: Mattress was a bit too soft for us but the furnishings and bedding were excellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShillM
North Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spent a lovely week in The Old Workshop. It's beautifully decorated and perfect for a couple.
The cottage is based in the centre of Bellingham, which offers everything (butcher, baker, grocer and of course the co-operative) if you fancy cooking your own meals.
If you feel like eating out I recommend The Cheviot Hotel, meals are great and reasonable priced.
From The Old Workshop you can visit various places, plenty of castles or if you fancy stretching your legs Kielder Forest is a good place to start, (includes bike tracks too).
We also visited Berwick Upon Tweed, Alnwick Castle (Harry Potter) and Hexham. Also on our trips we visited Jedburgh Abbey (just over the boarder in Scotland). Oh and we also stopped off at Hadrian's Wall on our way home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
“Great place stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely property, good facilities and very friendly amd helpful host. Godd location for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissie2...
Grasby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cozy home from home”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely compact cottage with everything you might need for a short break.
The owner couldn't have been more helpful, and the place is only 20 mins from Kielder…great for walking, waterspouts and much more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: Mattress was way too soft for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina10201...
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Old Workshop surpassed our expectations. It is an absolutely lovely place to stay. We can't think of any negative comments. Everything was clean and in perfect working condition.
The decorations are tasteful and light and really give you the feeling of coming home instead of a vacation rental. The kitchen is fully equiped (if you want to cook your own meals like we did), but the Cheviot Hotel around the corner serves good meals as well if you don't fancy cooking yourself (and rather cheap, about ten pounds for a main course).
From Bellingham we explored the surrounding area. Hadrian's Wall is just around the corner and even Alnwick Castle (1 hour) and Lindisfarne (1.5 hours) are doable for day trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing