We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A large slice of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
The mill at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars. This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars.
This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
The master bedroom
beanbags for hiding away with a book
double bedroom
the snug
DVD and Books in the lounge and staircase to the master bedroom.
The swimming pool
a favourite spot for breakfast
just swimming here is a unique experience...
Sunset on the mill
our favourite dining area
The BBQ at sunrise
just one place to curl up with a good book
The front door
the swing
the outhouse - its's just where we store stuff.
more milky way
spectacular night skies
The milky way
Springtime is so colourful
Autumn
early morning walk
Zambugiera
nearby lake
the drive
The gate guardian
not a bad spot for breakfast
November 2009
Spring sunrise
Th sand terrace
morning after a November storm
evening by the bio-pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ourique, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Barry M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A large slice of heaven”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Well, the mill on the hill exceeded all expectations. For starters it is much larger then we thought and there is plenty of room in the garden including, hammocks hanging from trees, a swing for the children and lots of sun-traps.
If you like peace and quite but access to interesting towns coupled with wildlife, panoramic views - then this is it!. Beaches are easily accessible 40-60 mins drive.
The owner, Mark, is very helpful and provides comprehensive advice on beaches, towns and places to relax. There are two wood-burning stoves and a stack of oak logs should the evenings be chilly. A huge DVD library, bird-watching guide and book library too. It is very homely. Plenty of hot water etc plus free Wi-Fi.
Its so quiet all we could hear was nightingales and goat bells.
If you are a photographer or lover of wild flowers or a birder you will just love it. Golden oriole, nightingale and booted eagle whilst sitting round the pool. And 40 mins away, at Castro Verde, great bustard (though you need to know exactly where to go).
What more can we say? our two children (2 and 4) loved the whole experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility of the location high on a hill
Liked least: it was all good!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypops...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hilltop delight”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Romantic out of the way Mill - fab for us and our doggies loved it there! Lots of good hill walking right from the door. The natural swimming pong looked very inviting but water was too cold when we were there - would imagine fab in warmer weather !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Electricity system!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reebeeYor...
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply idyllic!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at the Mill in April 2015. The Mill and its gardens are fantastic, plenty of places to relax by yourself or socialise with a group. The amenities at the Mill are great, there’s even a huge dvd library and games player for the odd inclement day.
We loved the attention that has gone into making it as eco as possible, and it appears to be totally off grid. The eco pool is fantastic!
The area around the Mill is very Portuguese, and the people in the local village are very friendly, we spent an evening in the village restaurant and we treated fantastically and made to feel very at home.
We can’t recommend the Mill enough, we’ve been trying to write a review for a few weeks and everything sounded contrite but the fact is, it’s a great place for a romantic week or a base to explore this area of Portugal. Even the drive to the Mill is fantastic, with what seems like hundreds of Stork nests on pole tops.

Can’t wait to return!

Ann-Marie and Neil

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prof_Hatm...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The most peaceful place in Portugal”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful, tranquil spot and a great place to recharge batteries. The mill itself is quaint but it has all you need to cook a great meal (with Portuguese ingredients) and generally chill on terrace. If it is actually chilly evening - rather than chilling - there are log stoves in the kitchen and lounge (although we only needed these twice on April evenings). There is even a visiting cat who appreciates a box of food from the local supermarket!

Local wine is superb!

Apart from relaxing, there is not a great deal to do in the immediate vicinity, but a 40 minute drive gets you to a range of excellent and very quiet beaches that my kids loved (so we did this a lot). In the opposite direction there is a supermarket 20 minutes away that is reasonably large. One very local highlight if you like horses is , a great stable owned by very knowledgeable English people who were very helpful and set us up with a great hack. There is a handbook of places to go locally, but we did not use this as the beaches and stables were enough for our kids (aged 10 and 13). There are several good restaurants around and I will try to review these separately.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineL...
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the mill”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
8
people found this review helpful

Had another fabulous fortnight at the mill in July. Really tranquil, with unsurpassable views. Great accommodation for our family of 4 plus son's girlfriend. Had some good day trips to the beaches at Odeceixe and Zambujeira do Mar. Food in local recommended restaurants was excellent. Mill is very comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing holiday away from it all. The starscape at night is fantastic. We all loved the new ecopool. I would not hesitate to recommend the mill. In fact the area is so appealing that my husband and I are buying a house just down the road!!! You'll not regret it if you go and stay here. One last major plus point: the butcher's in Santa Luzia is great, good meat and a range of other useful foodstuffs

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing