We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country park”
Review of Abbazia di Fiastra

Abbazia di Fiastra
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Urbisaglia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We were having lunch at one of the restaurants within the park so took the time before hand to have a wander around. Beautiful country park and Abbey. A few cafes dotted around for a coffee or gelato. All very nice and scenic. Great architecture too. Well worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank shazjulie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

Unfortunately this abbey was completely destroyed in WWII. It was very good rebuild. Interesting place to see. Not too far from Napoli. Beautiful view.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We visited a few times over the summer. Weekdays are a great time to explore the trails through the park grounds as they are relatively quiet and peaceful. Paths are mostly flat and easy-going, unless you head off into the woods.

Weekends can be very busy with local Italian families picnicking and exploring. It adds a nice buzzy atmosphere to the place but patience may be required to pass slow walkers.

The church and cloisters are worth a visit inside too.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank 2checkingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

It's a kind of 'compex', with a restored monastery and church, extensive grounds and a couple of cafes and restaurants. The monastery has been sensitively renovated and conveys a good sense of what monastic life was like. I found the church particularly evocative - stark and with a strong spirit of place. Walks of various lengths are available and while we only took a gentle stroll along a woodland path, it's possible to do an eleven kilometre round trip. Apparently, this place is popular with families and can get very busy at weekends, but it was lovely and quiet on a September weekday and we enjoyed the visit very much.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank valnowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridiana2, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abbazia di Fiastra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear visitor,
thanks a lot for your review. We are pleased to read your opinion on our site.
Actually the whole area is very suggestive and suitable for every age.
Our aim is to preserve both the abbey and the wood around it.
Best regards,
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Easy to find but strangely devoid of crowds, the abbey’s church and cloisters are a lovely site to wander around, especially on a hot day as there is plenty of tree cover. There are lots of walks going out into the surrounding parkland if you feel so inclined but it was just too hot when we visited.

The abbey’s church and grounds are free to get in but you have to pay to get into the cloisters. However the admission fee is well worth it as it covers not just the cloisters but a number of adjoining areas such as the underground cellars, the vino cotto display and the museum across the way. Even better, if you purchased a ticket to see the vast Roman town, amphitheatre and medieval fort just up the road at Urbisaglia (see separate review on Parco Archeologico di Urbs Salvia) then that ticket will cover the abbey’s cloisters and museum.

The cloisters themselves are quiet and have some old frescoes still visible. The cellars and museums both have interesting displays depicting the history and what life would have been like at the time.

In the same grounds are a restaurant and a couple of cafés, and we liked the peace so much that we returned a couple of days later to just sit at the café outside the church and people watch.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 151gregm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridiana2, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abbazia di Fiastra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016
Google Translation

Gentile visitatore,

grazie per aver dedicato un po del suo tempo a scrivere la recensione perché ogni suggerimento per noi è indispensabile così da offrire la migliore fruizione del complesso abbaziale a chiunque.
Ci auguriamo di averla nuovamente tra i nostri fruitori.
Cordialmente
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbazia di Fiastra also viewed

Urbisaglia, Province of Macerata
Caldarola, Province of Macerata
 
Tolentino, Province of Macerata
 

Been to Abbazia di Fiastra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing