We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Roe Deer Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roe Deer Cottage kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Roe Deer Cottage kitchen and dining area
Roe Deer Cottage garden
Welcome to Roe Deer Cottage
Roe Deer Cottage garden
View of the Loch from the hill behind the cottage
Loch leven beach
Forrest walks around the Lochan, Glencoe
The Lochan, Glencoe.  5 minutes drive from the cottage
Glencoe mountains
View of the Pap of Glencoe, Loch Leven
Loch Leven
Ballachulish bridge with the snow covered mountain in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Ballachulish, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bethie
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at Roe Deer Cottage for 2 nights and could not have loved it more. Initially we had only booked for one night but decided to try and have an extra night, one day earlier, and we were very happy when Elaine contacted us so quickly to let us know that this was possible. On our arrival the cottage was lit, warm, cosy and with a tray set out of tea/coffee and biscuits to welcome us. The cottage itself is just lovely and with such attention to detail that we fell in love with it immediately. Everything you could need for your stay is here. Beautiful soap products, fluffy towels, comfy beds and many other extras are included. Our only disappointment was that we could not stay for longer. If we are ever back in Ballachulish we would HAVE to have this lovely cottage again. So highly recommended - staying here will not disappoint!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This cottage is exactly as depicted in the photos and a great deal of time and effort has been spent to ensure it meets the highest expectations. Just perfect.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay for longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larraine...
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed at Roe Deer Cottage for a week in September. The cottage is beautifully presented and the best equipped we have stayed in. The friendly, helpful hosts have thought of everything, including a bottle of wine.

Cottage is all on the flat, has a ramp and would be ideal for older or less mobile guests. There is a short walk down to Loch Leven. It is handy to Fort William, Kinlochleven, Glencoe Village and the wonderful walking tracks around Glencoe. It is also less than a one hour drive to Oban where we caught the ferry for a visit to Mull and Iona.

Had beautiful weather while we were there and were very reluctant to leave. Highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassDino...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful cottage.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved staying at Roe Deer Cottage and it is certainly the best cottage we have visited. It is immaculate, very well equipped with quality items and also has lots of information about things to do and places to eat. The welcome pack was just lovely, as was the peace and quiet and the wildlife nearby. We would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart F
1 review
“Nothing short of perfect. ”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Not the first time staying here, and not the first time to feel completely comfortable, relaxed, and very impressed with the cottage and superb surrounding area. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izanutta
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Super cottage. Everything you need and good quality. Near to so many things. Would stay here again. Lovely touches from Elaine of a bottle of chilled wine, chocolates, biscuits, selection of teas and coffee and fresh flowers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$168
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing