We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Pine Cone in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
globetrot...
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay!! ”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently stayed for 3 nights at The Pine Cone and we found this to be a great little place for stay. Bill and matti were very welcoming and accommodating. Self contained kitchen, good size bedroom and living area. Great location too, including your own little parking space! Definitley recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Andy - many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and delighted that you were here on what was the warmest day in 2016. Kindest regards Matti The Pine Cone at Pine Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal and well looked after by our hosts”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely time staying at the Pine Cone. Bill and Mattie looked after us very well, even to the extent of supplying non-dairy mild and marg for these two vegan travellers. We had a mix up over payment and Bill and Mattie were very understanding and patient while we sorted it out. We'd definitely stay here again and recommend it as a bas for anyone exploring Deeside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Colin many thanks for your kind words- it was a delight to welcome visitors from New Zealand even if one had an Irish lilt! Enjoy the rest of your trip.regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyalla...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Bill and Mattie were lovely hosts who made my stay so comfortable and welcoming. The attention to detail made to make guests feel relaxed and at home is evident and I would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a holiday in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the excellent hosts
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S
Dorking, Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Bijou 2 room apartment + bathroom”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We returned to the Pine Cone for a second stay as we so enjoyed our first visit.
It is effectively a 'Granny annexe' to Pine Lodge and provides a large double bedroom with Shower room/ basin/WC. The second room is the combined living room/kitchen / diner.

The small kitchenette is cleverly designed with sink, preparation area, two burner hob and microwave. There is a large fridge which the owner generously stocked with local eggs, bread milk and home made jam.

The welcome was so warm - we could't wait to come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: The noise from the kitchen extractor fan!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Newbridge-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday retreat”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Pine Cone is great accommodation and Bill & Mattie are fantastic hosts. Daisy the Wheaten Terrier was a joy & made Izzie our Border Terrier most welcome :)
Mattie was most helpful giving us details of the local area & the facilities in Banchory which is a short walk away.

Thank you Bill, Mattie & Daisy for a lovely short break, we will hopefully see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic location & very peaceful
Liked least: Nothing at all to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Sue - many thanks for your very kind remarks. It was a pleasure to have you all stay at the Pine Cone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing