We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
347
140
35
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
347
140
35
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool golf course games room dining room putting green fourth floor table tennis sea view sand dunes traditional hotel course dinner public rooms year after year overlooking cardigan bay lovely hotel children's tea large family
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Everything is perfect - the rooms are a good size, our view across the golf course, dunes and to the sea where beautiful, the food is incredible - the menu changes daily, we al wanted at least 2 items on each course and each dish was beautifully presented, hot and tasted - wow! As previous mentioned in reviews the staff are friendly and attentive, wanting you to have a great meal/stay/happy to be there working - a welcome change from usual hotel staff. There is a games room, lots of leaflets on walks, drives, with copies available from recession - fanatic idea. Last nights fireworks display was wonderful - thank you! Would definitely recommend this friendly, family run gem.

Room Tip: sea views are stunning
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Another visit to what must be the best hotel in the world - almost ! It's position is superb overlooking a massive sea expanse. There are rooms on the front - sea facing and mountain facing at the rear. There is quite a large per person premium for sea-facing rooms though.
Traditional standards are a byword a the Trefeddian with very courteous reception staff and a dress code for dinner. Our rear room was spacious, well equipped, warm and comfortable with good wi-fi for those who must have it. BUT (and it's our consistent complaint with several decent hotels) a small wall mounted TV, quite unsuited to the room standard when there would easily be space for a decent 32in. floor standing TV. We expect some small TV in budget hotels but somewhere as decent as the Trefeddian really ought to have a more watchable TV in all rooms. That's our only moan over.Some lovely comfortable lounges too.
Dinner is a delight here with 5 excellent courses served very attentively by wonderful smart waiting staff at a table reserved for your entire stay - and crisp linen serviettes too. And breakfast - a wonderful starter buffet which always has fresh strawberries no matter when we visit followed by freshly cooked and brought to your table hot food.
Now to the swimming pool - it's great ! Warm, clean and a delight to use as you can see across the dunes to the sea - and because it's such a wonderful hotel there is a proper costume drier too.
If you like traditional standards in an elegant hotel with stunning views, smart attentive staff, then the Trefeddian is a must to visit, (so long as you don't want to watch TV !) It's not cheap and doesn't appear on the special offer websites but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewellcomegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Stayed here for 5 nights in January, made to feel very welcome from the moment we came through the door, had a sea view family room, absolutely great. Our 2 year old had a proper cot, rather than a travel cot and the room was partially divided so we could continue to use it easily after she had gone to sleep. Breakfast and dinner were served very promptly and our toddler was the only child taking advantage of the childrens early dinner time, a great menu offered and lovely to be able to give her dinner at a table before 6pm.
Great staff and facilities in a beautiful setting, our only criticism would be that food could be served a bit hotter.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra, and superior rooms for the King size beds.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorns123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited on a stunning January weekend. From the moment we arrived the team were welcoming and keen to ensure we had a fabulous stay. The hotel is family run and you can really tell this, there is no feel of corporate blandness here! Our room had a sea view and we enjoyed the sunrise and sunsets. The food was top notch and silver service was excellent. The wine selection was high quality as well. We enjoyed having an afternoon tea in the lounge which has recently been done up. The pool was great as well, immaculately clean and we always love a hot tub after a busy day! Thanks Tref Wales we can't wait to come back!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Friendly helpful staff - nothing too much trouble for them. My wife has a dietary issues and they catered for her with no fuss. Great food, warm, clean room and fantastic location. Facilities good with pool, hot tub, snooker and games room / childrens area

Room Tip: Front of hotel has sea views.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flyfisher1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews