We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Awel y Mor(Aberdovey)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Nyth Robin campsite(Aberdovey)(Great Value!)
US$28
Pitchup.com
View Deal
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$94
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queensbridge Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$121
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brigydon(Aberdovey)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trefeddian Hotel(Aberdovey)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dovey Inn(Aberdovey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Britannia Inn(Aberdovey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
375
217
82
43
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
217
82
43
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelzoo dealthe main hotellava breadparking spacecocklesboth nightssmall car parkeggs benedictsteep stairssteakno liftevening mealwelsh breakfastlarge bathroommember of staffscallopsstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice ambience in the bar and busy so sat in the overflow room next to the bar. Good selection of real ales, fast friendly service, nice decor, tasty looking food mainly on wooden platters. All good... until we visited the toilets... boy are they rough, let the whole place down.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Nick B,

Thank you for your review, It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit to us, I shall pass your review onto our maintenance team.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Three of us had lunch at the Penhelig Arms. We sat outside overlooking the estuary for our pre-lunch drinks in beautiful sunshine before going to the dining room to eat. The service was very good and friendly. We had the Ham and chicken pie and the butternut chicken as our mains which were both very good. The ale was very good as was the red wine. A very pleasant experience all round.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Brian H,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit to us at the Penhelig Arms.

Hope we can welcome you back soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We ate lunch here on 2 July, eating the duck salad and the asparagus and edamame bean risotto, which was very good. We drank apple juice and peach tea, also very good. We met up with friends, who also ate the same dishes.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hello Monica L,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Private Car Park is small and was full on arrival. Public Car Park nearby requires 8.25 overnight payment however machine doesn't take cash. Hotel doesn't have a cash machine or offer cash back or offer any alternative. Options provided were a broken down cash machine .5 miles away, a garage that may do cash back within 5 miles or going to Machynlleth (10 miles). My problem I know, but no solution offered by the Hotel in fact they weren't really that bothered and just said they didn't know why they had stopped doing cash back.

Room Tip: Take Cash for Car Park - don't expect help from staff.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi Ed W,

Thank you for your review,

We're sorry to hear the parking situation caused you some issue on your visit to us. We do what we can to help when it come to parking, which is always an issue in Aberdyfi.
It is S.A Brain company policy not to offer cash back, but we are happy to swap cash for change for the machine on request.
All parking fees are deducted from the room rate, if staying with us, on presentation of the parking ticket.

Again, we apologize for the issue you experience. Please contact us at penhelig@sabrain.com if you would like to discuss this with us,

Regards
The Penhelig Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

During the wonderful weather last week 4 of us stayed in Aberdyfi. On the Monday evening we decided to eat at the Penhelig Arms. The food was excellent as ever. At the end of the evening an incident occurred that caused a bit of a problem. We decided to call at the hotel the following day and just have a chat with the management to iron out the problem we experienced. I have to say Dilwyn the Assistant Manager was fantastic. He listened to us and then reassured us of the best intentions of the hotel and it's staff. He dealt with the whole situation superbly and when we visited the following evening for a complimentary dinner Nicola the General Manager was equally as professional and could not have been more attentive. I truly believe that S.A. Brains are extremely lucky to have 2 such excellent staff members. We very much look forward to visiting the Penhelig Arms again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lovelp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hello lovelp1,

Thank you for your lovely review, It's great to hear that we were able to rectify your issues, and that you enjoyed both your evenings with us.

Looking forward in welcoming you all back soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews