We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect island getaway”
Island cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide View of Island cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide
View of Island cottage
Friendly neighbours
Wildlife on the saltings
Lake at the west end of the island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzy E
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect island getaway”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was the perfect 'getaway from it all holiday'. The peace and quiet of the island was ideal for relaxing and unwinding but it also offered plenty to do. The canoeing was a particular hit with our son. The cottage was cosy and inviting with everything you need, especially when the British weather strikes! Vicky and Joe were great hosts and made us feel at home-so much so, we didn't want to go home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not having neighbours except sheep and peacocks!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays in UK”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Its one of the most unique place in England. Its a private island with only 2 houses, miles of land, sea and birds. So if you tired of crowd and would like to enjoy beautiful landscapes and wildlife, with NO ONE around, this place is for you. !!! I don't want to tell too much about this place, as its so special that you have to see it yourself. But truly unforgettable experience.
The owners of the island such a kind and generous people and its the only reason i am writing this review. Otherwise i would prefer do not tell anyone about it and keep this secret only for my family and friends . :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We throroughly enjoyed our visit to Horsey Island”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had been looking forward to our visit to Horsey Island and we were not disappointed. Crossing the causeway was the start of a delightful four days. The cottage is very spacious and well appointed, and we felt at home straightaway. Jo and Vicky who own the island and who work very hard running the livestock farm there still had time to chat to us and were most friendly and helpful. We saw an abundance of wildlife and we found walking across and around the island very invigorating. With the arable land, freshwater ponds, saltmarsh, views of other islands, and of the sea, there was such a variety of scenery. A beach area on which there are large numbers of shells is a great attraction.

On one of the days we went on a boat trip on Hamford Water, and on this we saw quite a number of seals as well as getting close to some of the other islands. The boat trips are operated by Tony Haggis who knows the area extremely well and who has a wealth of knowledge about its natural history.

We think anyone who is adventurous, likes being outdoors, who doesn't want a crowded resort holiday, and is happy to cook for themselves, but who still wants comfortable accommodation, will find a stay in the cottage on Horsey Island an ideal way to meet those needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalee P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horsey Heaven Holiday”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

2 kids (6&8) 1 husband a dog and me and we all had the best time. Victoria and Jo are the best. Vicky knocked for kids at 9am to go feed the lambs the kids best bit then off we all went on our adventures. There are loads to be had. Walking, canoing, beach combing, swimming, fishing it was all brilliant. My fav bit was watching the boys chop wood for the fire and building it up. The cottage has central heating but what the heck. The cottage was amazing, clean, all amenities top notch. Advice, take more food than you need its a hungry holiday.
We will be back!!!!! ******

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun b
1 review
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Horsey Island is a magical get-a-way.
The cottage was very homely and had everything we could possibly need during our visit. Joe and Vicky made us feel incredibly welcome and really went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and special. Cut off from the rest of the world, we were able to explore the whole island and immerse ourselves in its wonderful habitats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic cottage in an idyllic setting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing