We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property for a family.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Longhouse

Front of the Longhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the Longhouse
Spacious kitchen with large farmhouse kitchen table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Front of the Longhouse
Spacious kitchen with large farmhouse kitchen table
The traditional Yorkshire Longhouse is full of individual touches
Kitchen
The lounge showing the original 'cruck frame' which reaches up to the vaulted ceiling
Cosy log burner in the lounge
Decorated for Christmas, December 2015
The snug
The 'snug'
The dining room showing the traditional range and the historic 'smoke window'
The range
Family room has exposed timbers and a vaulted ceiling
Family bathroom with an electric shower and bath
Twin room has a sloping ceiling and a dormer window
Twin Bedroom showing the 'cruck frame' in the background
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double room showing en-suite bathroom
Winter sun on the Longhouse
Patio garden with private seating
Heather in bloom in the National Park
York minster in summer
Pickering castle
A field of poppies in the Vale of Pickering
The abbey and fishing port of Whitby
Daffodils in Helmsley
The Victorian pier in Saltburn-by-the-sea
A deserted beach in September
Our guest book
View from Sutton Bank, December 2015
The countryside just north of Pickerig
Ralph's cross, one of the ancient stone crosses on the moors
The coastline with Scarborough castle in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeterandA...
Goxhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic property for a family.”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for 3 days at short notice. The Longhouse exceeded our expectations, in fact the photos on the web site do not do it justice! Our family of 5 adults and 3 children fitted comfortably in the spacious property. The kitchen/diner was well equipped and Gil the owner very kindly had left us some eggs, milk, biscuits and jam for our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great new year break in The Longhouse Pickering”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I along with sister, brother in law and 2 friends have just returned from a fantastic 4 night break at The Longhouse in Pickering. We had never been to Yorkshire before so we're not sure what to expect. When we arrived we were delighted with the beautiful house very spacious and comfortable for the 6 of us, we all had our own en suite which is nice when your sharing accommodation with others. The house was lovely and warm with a great log burner in the lounge. The owner Gill and her husband were very helpful giving us lots of local info and even left us jam, eggs and biscuits which were appreciated.
The local town was lovely with several good pubs and restaurants all within easy walking distance, so all in all we had a great new year break and will definitely go back to see a bit more of the beautiful countryside in the area.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and its location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micheller...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about this beautiful house, will be back”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely welcome from the owner, a guided tour, all cosy and warm ready for our arrival. We were left eggs jam and biscuits which were yummy. Lots planned each evening but all 6 of us just wanted to get back and enjoy the ambiance at the longhouse. Beautiful walks, lots to do in the area. I have showed pics and told lots of friends about this lovely place, hope they don't book when I want to come back though!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
905maryja...
Harvard, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Cottage is the Best”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Long House cottage is a short walk from the town centre. It has everything you could want or need for a short or long stay. It was so big and decorated so lovely, that it was hard to leave it. The owner was wonderful and left us food and helped with getting around pickering..Stay here in Pickering, you will love it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the furnishings were beautiful
Liked least: too short of a stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john s
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“just simply superb!!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage on behalf of friends for a special get together, as some of us live in Scotland and some in the Midlands this was a pretty central meeting point.
Our friends arrived before us , but the txts we were receiving on route, were all extremely positive. Location is great, short walk to the town Center and all the local attractions. The cottage is of a very high standard, our friends who had stayed in many such like premises before , agreed this was the best they had ever stayed in, and we all agreed there was nothing that we needed to ask for. Loads of little extras that we didn't expect, and were all totally impressed with, plum jam, eggs milk delicious biscuits.
This property would suit family's or like us a group of friends. Al 3 rooms were lovely and spotless, the kitchen was fantastic we didn't need to bring anything. We did the steam train trip to Whitby , what a great day out, you must give it a go. Gill could not have been more friendly and obliging, and all will certainly return if not all together, with other family or friends just for the joy of seeing thier faces when they see the cottage .

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything no faults at all
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing