We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Castlegate Coach House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Front of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susanlesz...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castlegate Coach House”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just spent a week here at this lovely pet friendly accommodation. This is our 4th visit and we will return again. Everything you need is here at the cottage. Perfect location for a walk into town, taking the Steam Train up to Whitby, walks around the Castle/woods and surrounding area and then also for visiting nearby places of interest. So much to see and do. We can highly recommend staying here. Thank you Lucy and Paul for their hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Dear Susan, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit. Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house, very cosy, great location”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to stay for the weekend, both the house and the town! The communication I received from the owner was great, and we found the house using her directions without any problem at all. The house was warm and cosy when we arrived, and we were very happy to find a chocolate cake and tea bags waiting for us when we walked in! A very nice touch after travelling for 4hrs.

The kitchen is very well equipped, and the beds were very comfortable. We put the fire on for Saturday night, and it was so toasty inside. The house is only a few minutes walk from both the town centre and the castle, so really is perfectly positioned.

Pickering itself is a lovely town. I spent quite a long time walking around it on Sat evening whilst the kids and hubby watched a film, and it is a very pretty place with lovely shops and restaurants/pubs. We travelled to the coast to have an afternoon at Robin Hood's Bay on the Saturday, and it only took about 30 mins in the car, as far as I can remember. A really lovely place to spend the weekend, and we would definitely consider staying at this lovely house again. Thank you for putting us up!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Dear Rachel, Thank you so much for taking the time to review my cottage, it is very much appreciated. I'm so glad you had such an enjoyable weekend and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue J
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely pet friendly accommodation in the heart of Pickering”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Castlegate coach house is in a great location - minutes away from the Castle, the station and the high street. Beautifully clean and well equipped accommodation - ideal for the two of us and our dog, but with room to sleep another 2 people if needed. Welcome addition of an outdoor seating area (although we didn't make much use of it as the weather was chilly). There are some lovely walks in the vicinity and Pickering is well served with dog friendly pubs. We took the train to Whitby for the day which was lovely and well worth the trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Dear Sue,
Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,
Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed here and hope for lots more holidays here in the future. The accommodation is extremely comfortable in a great location and dogs are welcome. Pickering is perfect for visiting the N Yorkshire Moors and the beautiful coast with great places to eat, walk and just have a good time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Dear Jon, Many thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb cottage in great location”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a lovely self-catering cottage which is sparkling clean with excellent soft furnishings. It has a very good free Wi-Fi and use of the phone which is a bonus! There is a TV and a separate DVD player. It is well appointed and the kitchen has everything you need including a washing machine and dishwasher. The owners live next door and are very helpful. The cottage is in a quiet location but close to the High Street, the market on a Monday and a short walk to the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors steam railway which goes to Whitby. When you arrive you will find tea and a wonderful cake to greet you! This is the second time we have stayed here and we just can't fault it. We have already booked for our third stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Dear Pam,

Many thanks for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing