We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location beautiful warm family home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 2 The Ropery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Beautiful dining room
Fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons
View from third floor bedroom
View of No 2 The Ropery
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris S
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location beautiful warm family home”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

stayed here few days beginning of December location is superb at the bottom of the Main Street steam trains are a 10 second walk away the house is a stunning family home with everything a family or couple could need superbly apointed in every way warm and cosy eat out at great local eateries or stay in and cook for the family or loved one and the bath we'll get four kids in there big 50 inch television large dinning table good range can't recommend this holiday let enough owners always on the end of the phone if any problems enough said were re booking now

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We loved having you as guests and you are welcome back any time - maybe bring all of the family the next time :) Thanks so much - hope the rest helps the busy period that you have ahead of. With love from the Hobson Family xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb family stay”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had such a lovely warm welcome to the house. Brilliant communication with the owner. Amazing location, in the heart of the town centre. Will be booking to visit again. Highly recommend for families or groups. 5 stars from us all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
So glad that you enjoyed it Louise. We bought the house with a view to making it a happy family place to stay :) You are welcome back at any time. thank you for leaving it in such a tidy and respectable way - how lovely xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillian g
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely superb in every way”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was lovely to find such a beautiful holiday home which had absolutely everything on hand to accommodate all our family.
Alison and her family were very approachable and nothing was too much trouble, the complementary wine was a lovely welcome too,thank you.
The Ropery was just literally situated at the bottom of the high street which had all amenities on hand which was great.
We all had a lovely holiday ,will most definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the property and close to amenities
Liked least: lack of a downstairs toilet for members in our party who were less mobile.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so so much for this wonderful review - you were an absolute pleasure to have....I loved our early chats :) please do come again, you are more than welcome xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillyg1
Leeds , West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home , absolutely fabulous !”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we booked this accommodation I knew it was going to be fabulous. Alison was very friendly and most helpful on advising of places to eat etc. And from pictures / reviews of the house I knew it was going to be lovely. Myself and 7 other girls were there for my Hen Weekend. From the moment we arrived , to a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us , to the moment we left it was fab. The house is a great size for a group so you don't feel like you are on top of each other , beds were so comfy , everything a group could need. No scrabbling about for cutlery etc , and a big bonus with a group of girls eating in , a dishwasher !! We ate out at a restaurant called Figaros on the Saturday night which was equally as good. They were very attentive and the food was delicious. Visited Dalby Forest on the Saturday for Segways , just one word, amazing !!! Pickering is a lovely little village and would definitely go back. But the house made it , so if you are looking for somewhere for a group , especially girls then this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Home from Home feeling.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you so so much for taking the time to do us a review and such a fab one :) You were a pleasure to deal with and it makes my day to read that the house catered for all of your requirements. Please come back again soon....always welcome xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneJags
Southampton, Canada
1 review
“Would definitely go back!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I can't say enough about no 2 Ropery. Nine of us loved the location. Pickering has so much to offer and you are close to York and Whitby. If traveling again with a large group to the UK, I wouldn't hesitate in booking No 2 again. It was clean, stocked full of games for the kids, and amenities like home. Thank you Alison.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern home and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You were a pleasure from
Start to finish :) please do come back to stay in the future! It makes my day to get such wonderful reviews. Thank you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing