We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical cottage, wonderful walks.....magical...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 2 The Ropery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Beautiful dining room
Fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons
View from third floor bedroom
View of No 2 The Ropery
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie W
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical cottage, wonderful walks.....magical Christmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Although as a family we stay at a cottage rental every year at different locations all over the UK, we had never been away from home at Christmas. This cottage was actually booked from New Year's Day 2012.......with a little drink assistance and a weak moment.
We needn't have worried. The care and attention to detail for the cottage was well beyond all of our expectations. On arrival(after a 5 hour journey with 3 squashed in grumpy teenagers) we opened the door of the cottage to find the most wonderful cottage very tastefully decorated for Christmas with a massive Christmas tree in the lounge....the owners had even left Christmas card........and bottle of Champers!
The location was very handy, with shops (and a market place) in the Main Street opposite for the last little bits.....we had ordered a Turkey to collect from York (25 mins) on Christmas Eve.
We had a different walk everyday which were all right on the doorstep, as were a wonderful choice of pubs....all with open fires and local ale...if that is your gig...it was ours!
Everybody was extremely friendly and welcoming.
The last day we went to the train station (next door to the cottage) with the steam train ride (a guy told us this was the station and train used in The Harry Potter film). We went to Goathland and walked through the village...this was the one in Heartbeat.Then walked to the Mallyon Spout waterfall and then to Grosmont....about a 4mile walk......when we got to the station, we went into the station cafe....where again a roaring fire and a hot chocolate topped with cream was divine. This was a full day....but by far the best most unexpected day that we spent.
All in all, this was the most fantastic cottage and location and absolutely made our family Christmas complete. I think we will probably reflect on this break when we are back at work and school and think it was probably the best Christmas that we have had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every last bit of it
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2013
What a wonderful review to read. It has honestly sent shivers down my spine. Thank you so so much. The most important thing for us is to cater for all of the needs of our guests and make it as much a home from home as possible. A holiday is a big financial commitment for families and it is so important that we get it as right as we possibly can. You left the house immaculate thank you - you can come back any time :) Happy New Year and we hope to see you again soon :) xxxxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The internal decor/furnishings and the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Dec 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the house - it does help other future guests make a decision. I have to say that my pet hate is being cold s- so whilst the house is big we try and have it cosy and warm for guests. I am so pleased that you were happy with everything - having children ourselves we know the importance of keeping them entertained!! Further improvements planned for 2013. Come back soon :) THANKS!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen_All...
Scruton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 2nd visit to this perfectly positioned wonderful well equipped fabulous house.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to The Ropery, we visited with different family members who were also incredibly impressed with the standard of this great holiday home. We were blessed with amazing weather which made our break perfect especially when we could kick back and relax at the end of our fun packed days with a glass of vino in the courtyard- great outdoor furniture. We took a trip on the Train to Goathland - fantastic day was had by all! We also visited number 4 in Pickering food was great and the service was excellent and they made the kids feel very welcome .

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We were delighted to have you back. Sadly we can't guarantee the weather for all of our guests but our hoping and praying did work for you :) Take care and keep in touch. xxxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle...
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage, brilliant weekend”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Just returned back from a wonderful weekend in Pickering celebrating mums birthday. Our party included 6 adult, my nephew who is 10 and my daughter 14. It's the first time we have stayed at this cottage and I must say Alison has thought of everything. My daughter and Nephew loved the games cabinet. The cottage is beautifully decorated, furnished and well maintained. There was 8 in our party and still felt very spacious. The location is central to the shops, pubs and cafes and is opposite the train station. We all went on the steam train to Goathland which we all really enjoyed. I would definately recommend this cottage and hopefully will be returning in the near future.
Thank you Alison for making our stay so welcoming.
The Kennedy's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, elegant and homely
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2012
Aw what a lovely review. Thank you so so much. It was a pleasure to have you and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. Our main aim is for all of our guests to feel at home and relax from their busy schedules - thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie P
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed 3 nights at The Ropery in September with my 3 year old son, my parents and my aunt and Uncle. The location was perfect - my son particularly enjoyed watching the trains from the bedroom window and loved the kids den and toys to play with. The rooms were pretty, kitchen well equipped and the whole house very spacious. Negative points would be the very steep stairs to the kids room on the 3 rd floor - a child gate would have been apreciated for my little boy, the upstairs shower was also very small. There was no free parking for the 2nd car (As was advertised)and no welcome card when we arrived. Having stayed in cottage rentals for 30 years, most will leave a little note or gift to welcome you so we were a little surprised that this very expensive property did not.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and love Pickering - the train, best second hand bookshop in the world right across the street and lots of great places to eat were wonderful. The Ropery is a lovely Property with very good facilities, just a couple of opportunities for improvement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Upper stair case & tiny upstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. The points that you have made have been taken on board and will be considered in the future. With regards parking, I shall check out the advert as we have only ever advertised one parking space and so this concerns me :( For future guests there is plenty of free parking just seconds from the house. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$371
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing