We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third visit and will return.”
other travellers have booked this property
Willow`s End twin or superking bedroom with bespoke oak headboard, made by Ben!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Willow`s End twin or superking bedroom with bespoke oak headboard, made by Ben!
Willows` End bespoke country kitchen with Rangemaster cooker. Willows` End inviting lounge with oak floors, beams and woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Willow`s End twin or superking bedroom with bespoke oak headboard, made by Ben!
Willows` End bespoke country kitchen with Rangemaster cooker.
Willows` End inviting lounge with oak floors, beams and woodburner
Pretty French style bedroom twin or superking
Willows` End fitted bathroom
Pretty French style bedroom made up as twin
Spacious ensuite shower rooms
Sunny conservatory, perfect for some quiet time..
The outside terrace is just right for evening drinks and star gazing
The gardens burst into colour come June..
South facing gardens..
Glorious views over Newtondale from open farmland behind the cottages.
Meet the neighbours..
View points from around Stape, just stunning!
Cropton Forest is open access, walks from the door, forget the car!
Welcome to our amazing rural retreat, relax and enjoy. Have a look at our other cottages- Middlehead
Meadow`s Edge, a wonderful cottage sleeping up to 4 in 2 ensuite bedrooms
Brock Cottage, a cosy cottage, sleeping up to 4 in two ensuite bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paddydepi...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Third visit and will return.”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our third visit to this fabulous location and on this occasion we stayed in Willow's End, another beautiful cottage in this collection of four lovely properties. If you are looking for a peaceful spot in the midst of Cropton forest and the surrounding farmland, you will certainly love this spot. Peace, quiet, beautiful views, delightful walks, as soon as you step out of your front door, and everything you could possibly want when you return to your cosy cottage. Owner, Sue has created a haven and ensures her guests are well looked after. She and her partner maintain the property beautifully and even salted a snowy driveway so guests could safely get in and out of the complex. (It's a long drive). All this, plus a breathtaking drive across the Yorkshire moors to Whitby, or a visit to Goathland, ( Aidensfield in the popular t.v. drama Heartbeat). There are plenty of lovely locations to visit including Robin Hood's Bay, Filey, Bridlington and Scarborough. Each of our visits has been made over Christmas and New Year, but we hope to return and sample the beauty of the area in the Spring, Summer and Autumn. Love the peace and quiet!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Immaculate accommodation in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is our second visit to Cropton Forest Lodge, staying in Willow's End. The cottage has everything you need, is extremely clean and comfortable with great views in a peaceful location. We will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is well laid out and very clean. The location is great for wildlife.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrover...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent cottage ideal for local attractions”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

very nice cottage very clean owner very helpful and obliging.if you have got young children you must try GO APE in dalby forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five Star rural idyll”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The hosts Ben and Sue were very welcoming, made us feel at home from the word go. Excellent crash course at wood burner use! Cottage was perfect, everything had been thought of. It was in pristine condition, warm and very comfortable, all the utensils etc were high quality.

Tips for other travellers
Comprehensive list of ideas for things to do, local walks, pubs and so on. The North Yorkshire Moors Railway was a great excursion and Whitby a great day out (good for the fish and chips!) No phone signal at the Cottage but high speed internet on which Skype/FaceTime etc works perfectly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eviec7
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely as always”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Already reviewed this on trip-advisor once before but I'm adding a few addendums after our second visit to this gorgeous little retreat. We stayed at Willows End cottage which really the most beautiful and finely finished holiday letting we have ever been to. The quality of the finish to this cottage is just fantastic - the superking size bed is just huge. Another advantage to this place is the huge comfortably furnished conservatory where you can sit together with extended family who may be staying in other cottages and just sit and read/relax in the sun or early evening watching the wildlife through the panaromic windows. The wildlife there is fantastic - deers are out early morning and evenings at the back of the cottages pretty much every day, pheasants and rabbits everywhere you look - we saw tons of frogs on the surrounding tracks during our stay in April too. The boot/laundry room are fantastic facilities - all ready stocked with detergents and stain removers so no having to pack your own. Literally all you need to pack is your toothbrush and clothes and order a shop to be delivered for your arrival ( MAKE SURE YOU GIVE THE DELIVERY DRIVER CROPTON FOREST LODGES NUMBER NOT YOUR PERSONAL MOBILE AS THERE IS PATCHY MOBILE SIGNAL UP THERE !) There is a large selection of dvds/books/games/maps in the bootroom that can be used by holidaymakers during the stay too. Home-made cake is layed out for arrival - everything you could need as part of a self-catering holiday has been made available (including often absent extras like egg cups/colanders ), and its not just cheap rubbish either- saucepans are 'professional quality' etc. Places to visit include HELMSLEY which is a sweet little village with the best ice-cream shop called RYDALLS - which I'd definitely recommend, it also has an outdoor swimming pool which we will be trying out in August when we go back (the fact that I've been back to this place twice and am set to return again in the same year is a true testament to how lovely this place is because I have NEVER holidayed at the same place twice before!) York, Knaresborough,Scarborough, Dalby Forest and Durham are all within an hours drive (Dalby forest has lots of activities like 'Go Ape). I personally wouldn't bother with Ripon/Malton or Pickering - ALTHOUGH, Pickering does have a Lidl for any shopping extras you might need.and there 'FINEST' range really is lovely, especially the three fish roast and profiteroles. You really won't get anywhere better to stay in the area and the prices for rental are fantastically competitive. The owners of the Cropton cottages are a lovely easygoing couple who truly put themselves out to ensure your requirements are met and staying at this little place has managed to convert me to British holidays because no matter what the weather you cannot fail to enjoy your break there - even when it rains you can still relax by your log fire reading/watching a film - or watch the wildlife in the comfy conservatory - loverly : ) : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage
Liked least: Ripon/Malton
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing