We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it”

Stirling Highland Games
Ranked #56 of 56 things to do in Stirling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a traditional highland games event held annually on the 3rd weekend of August. Our event competitions include Heavyweights, tossing the caber, Highland Dancing, Track & Field for both adults and youth, Tug o War and wrestling dependent on participant entries. We also have on site catering, showcasing the best of Scotland's food and drink produce plus a traders village where you can pick up some quality Scottish gifts.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 September 2017

It was our first Highland games experience as a family, my husband attended many in his youth but our boys 5y, 4y & 2y loved the opportunity to try lots of different sports. We visited with another family and all our kids enjoyed the sports experience immense. Our youngest had a fo at fencing with the Dunblane Fencing Club and loved it. Also all 5 kids loved the hockey training and game afterwards, since than I have looked into singing our kids up to the local Hockey club!
I have no comparison so for us it was a great day out!

Thank krazykrizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m13att, Owner at Stirling Highland Games, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi KrazyKrizy
Thanks for the positive reply. It sounds like our Activities Challenge area went down really well with both families. Like the majority of visitors (72%) rating us at the top levels highland games experience we do aim to be an affordable family day out with not just highland games but also a host of other activities and attractions.
Great to hear that you are speaking with the local hockey club. Good luck with it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

This was the poorest of many highland games we have attended. The best part was the excellent programme booklet but unfortunately the actuality did not live up to the event. I admit that this was a bit due to the field being a sea of mud. The one pipe band was a joke as they need a lot more practice. The last games we attended, 2 weeks ago, at Dundonald was 5 star. It was much better organised - more to see and there were about ten pipe bands of a very high standard from several countries and it was free!

Thank guesthouseAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m13att, Owner at Stirling Highland Games, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi Guesthouse Ayr
Sorry to hear about your experience with us but appreciate the feedback. I will look to meet the organisers of the highland games you mention at the next SHGA meeting in the hope they can share good practice on not only delivery but also how they managed to raise the necessary funds to allow entry to be for free.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

this was our first highland games and probably our last,our sons sports day was more enjoyable,too expensive to watch a bit of sports in a field

1  Thank Nidge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m13att, Owner at Stirling Highland Games, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy our cultural sporting event on Sat 20th August this year, especially as it was your first experience of a highland games. As just one of the many highland games that take place annually in Scotland I do hope you give it another go next year - can I suggest Airth, Alva, Blackford or Bridge of Allan which are all local to Stirling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Went with the family and wasn't sure if the teenagers would enjoy it but loads for the whole family to see and do! It was great to come to this local event as haven't been to a highland show since I was young. There is a great variety of food and drink from coffee and cake to steak burgers and chips.

Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m13att, Owner at Stirling Highland Games, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you Debbie. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable day out at our highland games. We take pride in our selection of food and drink providers at the games as we are keen this adds to the experience too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m13att, Owner at Stirling Highland Games, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stirling Highland Games also viewed

Bannockburn, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to Stirling Highland Games? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing