We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab midterm break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA FORTUNA LODGES

luxury detached lodge close to Stirling town center with unobstructed views towards Stirling castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
luxury detached lodge close to Stirling town center with unobstructed views towards Stirling castle
luxury hot tub on site with patio area, suitable for upto six people, sitting /dinning room with french doors leading onto the decked area and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
luxury detached lodge close to Stirling town center with unobstructed views towards Stirling castle
luxury hot tub on site with patio area, suitable for upto six people,
sitting /dinning room with french doors leading onto the decked area and garden
downstairs king size bedroom
ustairs double bedroom with views towards stirling castle and country side
kitchen,with all mod cons,dishwasher,washing maching,fridge/freezer
hot tub
upsatirs shower room
down stairsa bathroom suitable for wheel chair access
twin bedroom
upstairs landing
views towards Wallace monument
lodge surrounded by beautiful countryside
walace monnument 3 miles from the lodges
log cabin
lounge/dining room
stirling old bridge
views towwards the ochil hills
luxury lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nessie266...
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fab midterm break”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed here on a late special offer mid term weekend break, which unfortunately fell the same weekend of valentines, so had to go away with kids for the long weekend. We didn't have a lot of choices of accommodation with a hot tub as all booked up so I was delighted to find this place the week before. We needed somewhere that was close to child/teenage friendly activities to keep them entertained, so being only 10 mins away from the centre of Stirling was fab (& not to far from home for travelling to as the little one doesn't travel well)
The lodges are signposted well & are spaced out well. Our 3 bed lodge was warm on arrival (I hate going into a cold room as it takes hours for me to heat up so I was glad) the whole house was immaculate and comfy beds & hot showers and had everything we could need, not really sure on kitchen cook ware as we eat out or order in when on holiday, but looked well equiped, although a bigger toaster would be better than the 2 slice one provided seeing as it's a house to sleep 6, but this is only minor enhancement advice as we had a great stay. My girls did moan about the Internet connection as only got 1-2 bars at any given time but you could manage to read & send emails etc so no big deal. The kids used 'The Peak' leisure centre for ice skating, swimming & roller skating, the only thing this place is missing is a soft play which is a shame, so we used The Springkerse View family restraurant pub that had a good soft play, also went to the vue cinema that had beanbag seats on the front row, so no longer the last seats left :)) loved chilaxing in the hot tub at the end of the night. Had a fab weekend, hopefully get to use the party lodge with a group of friends next time

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to right a review, glad you all enjoyed your break , what a lovely family and hope you will return again at some time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kg21990
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over new year. As we were a large group we rented 2 lodges, both were fantastic. Spotlessly clean and well equipped. We didn't feel as though we were in a holiday lodge, felt like home from home. Everyone in our party had a great time and we would all recommend this to anyone and we hope to return back in the summer! Thank you so much Mairi and John for your wonderful hospitality.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, hope to see you all again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
80imm
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful lodges, best time ever!!! We will be back!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at the lodges for a hen party - all 20 of us in three lodges and had a brilliant time. Mairi and John could not have been more helpful during our stay and were great fun too. The lodges themselves are finished to a very high standard and decorated beautifully, we had planned to go out on the saturday night but theTopaz lodge was so nice and spacious and we had everything we needed (including a hot tub) so we decided to stay in and party instead.

The location is lovely and the countryside and views cannot be faulted but the local towns and Stirling are all easy to get to by car.

We were so impressed - myself and a few of the other ladies plan to make this a regular weekend break and are planning our second visit early in the new year

Thanks again and we will see you very soon :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the lodges was amazing - they are beautifully decorated and very comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and book for 2015, yes you girls know how to enjoy yourselves.... Looked like lots of fun.... See you all next year, have a great xmas and Newyear :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne E
troon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“health & safety risk”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with friends to celebrate 50th birthday - 12 of us shared 2 lodges over two nights. Thankfully I only stayed for one night - don't think I would have felt too good over two. The boiler in the lodge is fuelled by kerosene and the smell pervaded every room in the lodge downstairs and up, whether doors were shut or not. We spent the weekend freezing with all the windows and doors open to try and make it bearable. The male owner was informed on the Friday night when our group arrived but he shrugged off our concerns and left us to get on with it. We complained to the female owner upon departure and she refunded us £100 - why if there was no problem? I am dismayed that we weren't offered alternative accommodation. Most of us ended up with sore heads and sore throats and one of our group who suffers from asthma was miserable the whole time. I don't know the risk from these fumes but I am concerned that the owners did not take the situation seriously enough to have the boiler dealt with or checked while we were there. Surely there is a huge onus on a holiday let landlord to maintain health & safety standards? Over and above this the lodge was clean, comfortable and in a good location but not luxurious and in our circumstances not relaxing.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at La Fortuna Lodges as much as our other guests have done but I feel I should respond to what is quite a serious accusation regarding Health and Safety. Here at La Fortuna, we take the health and safety of our guests very seriously indeed and the Oil Boilers in the Lodges are serviced annually and ad hoc health checks are done regularly, one completed just recently. My husband checked the boiler when you asked about the smell and although there was a slight smell of oil he reassured you that there was no safety issues and that you should open the window in the kitchen to allow the smell to dissipate and close the kitchen door to keep the heat in the rest of the house.
During the rest of your stay you seemed to enjoy yourselves immensely even commenting to me that you hoped you did not wake the neighbours with the karaoke and the partying. The temperature in the lodges is monitored in the main house and I can assure you that it did not fall below 20 °C during your stay in fact it was a lot higher as you adjusted it to your needs.
We were fully booked that weekend so could not offer alternative accommodation even if there had been a major problem, but if any of your party thought that staying in the lodge was having an adverse affect on their health then I would have expected them to leave and a full refund would have been given. As it was, on the day of your departure your party stayed until lunchtime, well past the normal 10.00am check out, making full use of the facilities. You did ask to speak to me that morning to advise me that some of your party were complaining about the smell of oil which was barely noticeable apart from in the kitchen. As a gesture of goodwill, I offered to refund £100, over 20% of the cost of the lodge.
Just to reassure you, we did get an engineer in to look at the boiler on the Monday and after a thorough check, he confirmed that the boiler is working perfectly and there are absolutely no safety or health issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, nice views, very comfortable.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We have now put together a welcome pack in the lodge with the opening times etc for the hot tub.
For 2015 there will be 2 hot tubs where one can pay a little extra and have a private hot tub or free communal hot tub.
Thanks again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$400
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing