We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
megan J
Scotland
1 review
“Fantastic property”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here last weekend with a large group of friends. The house was ideal for our stay and spacious enough for all without ever feeling like we were on top of each other. Great kitchen perfect for cooking and socialising.
All in all a fantastic weekend would love to come back when the weather was a bit better to make use of the big garden.
Thanks for having us

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2015
Dear Megan
Sorry the weather was so horrible for you but really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much, in the house . Thank you for leaving the house is such great condition which helped us so much and I hope that you would like to come back again, if so we would be delighted to have you.
Regards David and Nikki.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances H
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation for family get together”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here as a large family group of 13 + one 10 yr old at end of February. The manager, David was most helpful as we had to up our numbers at last minute and he kindly sorted out extra room for us in annex so all our family could be accommodated. We had a brilliant time staying at this beautiful home. The entrance hall is large with grand red-carpeted staircase to upper floor. Downstairs, the kitchen is huge and has everything you could possibly need and more. It has a modern feel but it does not spoil the overall traditional character of the place. There were lovely homemade cupcakes in the kitchen on our arrival which we were very soon enjoying with mugs of tea in front of a roaring coal/log fire. We only cooked breakfasts during our stay but the large range cooker was superb as well as lovely big dining room with long rectangle banquet style table which we all enjoyed having our meals at together. There are 2 sitting rooms both with real coal/log fire. It was very quick to get the fires going as they also have an electric fire starter which is ingenious gadget that gets fire going in less than 2 minutes. The rooms have very comfy sofas and were superb for relaxing in as well as plenty of space for family games etc. Layout of house was excellent. There is a large downstairs shower room with toilet and hand basin. Bedrooms are all tastefully decorated and the beds so comfortable, everyone commented on how well they slept in them. There are 2 separate bathrooms upstairs and a separate WC. One bathroom has shower cubicle and hand basin, the other has bath with hand held shower over bath, handbasin and toilet. The village of Cambusbarron is within walking distance if you need anything from grocery/newsagents and I would highly recommend the local butcher shop, Michael More. I would definitely stay here again and would love to see the house and gardens in summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spending time with extended family under one roof
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
Hi Frances
I was so glad to see that you enjoyed the house and very glad that we were able to help out with the extra room and bathroom. It seems like you were able to have a great family get together which is fantastic, and I also like the cup cakes!! I had one that was left over when Nikki made them! I hope perhaps you can come back, and thank you for the time to make this review
Best regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavk73
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful Xmas at Newholme house plenty of space for everyone 8 adults and two kids and one pug. My mum made use of the fantastic kitchen as she loves to cook. Both kids and adults loved the time we spent at the house. David was on hand to answer any questions. Would highly recommend and will definitely return

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Nikki and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Newholme and hope that the kids all got the presents that they wanted. Thanks you for looking after the house so well and we would be delighted to have you back at Newholme. Nikki was sad that she did not meet Millie!!! just as well as she might have tried to keep her.
A happy new year to you all.
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egyptprin...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“dream home in perfect location”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This home was truly like a dream - my family and I stayed here for my wedding week this August and everything was just perfect. From the luxury kitchen, the entertaining family room (board games and books galore!), over-sized dining room, and magnificent bedrooms - this place was very well kept and exactly what we were looking for. The garden is absolutely lovely and I regret not taking more wedding pictures on the grounds. Also, everything is truly self-catering and well laid out instructions on everything from how to use the oven to how to log on to the wireless are left for new guests. I had family travelling from Egypt and Australia and they too were amazed by the property and the kindness of David and his wife - who went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. They even baked cupcakes and brought champagne to celebrate the wedding! Thanks again to both of them! I would come back here in a heartbeat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
So Glad that you had an amazing time for your wedding while staying in Newholme House, and Nikki and I like nothing more than to make our guests feel at home and it was great that you seemed to enjoy it so much. I hope your special day went well and wish you both the very best, and perhaps in years to come you may revisit us with your own family.
Best of Luck
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clype33
Stirling, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“First class and lots of upgrades since last time”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This isn't the first time my work colleagues and I have hired Newholme, for a Christmas social event, but once again it was first class and we noticed that there have been several improvements since last there. The Suites in the Living and Sitting rooms have it appears been refurbished though it has retained its charm in keeping with the property generally. The bedrooms too seem to have had a bit of a refresh and its great standards have improved further still.
The kitchen too we noted now has a flat screen TV and wifi access too.
For our dinner we used local Butcher Michael More to provide catering and this too was first class and highly recommended. Once again a successful trip, a great stay and Newholme is highly recommended.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Excellent news and hope that you can make it again next year...we hope to have some more upgrades as well by then
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;