We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit.”
Review of The George Hotel, Southport - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The George Hotel, Southport
Attraction details
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Just been again and i didnt follow my own advice. Guess where we finished up? Thats right in room 24.
It had been refurbished a bit since our last visit in 2013. A new Panasonic tv, looked like a new carpet, paint job.
The window would not close and a terrific draught came through and my wife had to cover all the cracks with cling film.
The bed had clean sheets but the duvet must have been at least 30 plus tog so you either froze or sweated. The food was quite good but the service was appalling, not enough staff
Once again try not to get room24..

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank jacko367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2015

we went in to george never been in before but definately go again it was brilliant friendly service and very welcoming

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Popped in for food with friends orderd various drinks at bar all happy friendly staff and then to food salt pepper scampi took my eye as i like spicy food and was hopeing it would be like you get in a Chinese with peppers onions chilli and boy was it absolutely spot on same as all the other food we orderd

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank sandmanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

Popped into The George for tea tonight as had been in the past and remembered how good the food was and very good value. Biggest mistake! Ordered 2 cokes from the bar both which had a very strange taste. When we said to the bartender he said he would replace the drinks. That never happened. I ordered 'salt and pepper' scampi and my partner gammon and egg. When the scampi arrived it was covered in chilli flakes, greasy peppers and onions. The scampi was also really greasy and full of water. It was disgusting! The worst meal and drinks I have ever tasted. No wonder the pub was empty. When we were leaving after paying £17 for terrible food and drinks I let the staff know. The lad in question wasn't remotely interested and didn't seem surprised that scampi was served covered in chilli flakes. I did mention that it wasn't described like this on the menu but he just shrugged. We will not be going back.

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Went for lunch with 8 friends fro work. We all had sandwiches and fries . We notced that someone had to quickly run out to local shop for bread ! The steak was tough and inedible, one persons food was cold, the salad was not fresh and when asked about coleslaw which should have been included - was told we haven't got any . Will not be returning .

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank barneyboo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Hotel, Southport also viewed

Ainsdale, Southport
Southport, Merseyside
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing