We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service”

South Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #78 of 129 Restaurants in Tenby
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We headed here for a "date night" while grandparents babysat for us.
We've eaten here before in the off season and had good food and service.

The restaurant is nicely decorated and the view is stunning.

The food we ordered was tasty and well presented.

Unfortunately the staff let the whole experience down.

When we arrived it wasn't made clear that we should find our own table, so we were stood by the door for a while despite a member of staff welcoming us and showing us the menu. We had to ask if we should sit ourselves.

It took almost 10 minutes for our drinks order to be taken, but our waitress and another were doubling up on serving the same tables and so both asked us and neighbouring tables for their orders. Neither one knew which table had been seated first and therefore who's order should be taken first.

We ordered a beer, mocktail and glass of water. Water and beer arrived but no mocktail. We had to ask for it and the waitress was very confused, even though the order bill had the three drinks and she only had two on her tray. The mocktail showed up 10 minutes later.

We sat inside by the window and watched in amazement when outside tables weren't cleared by staff, but by the local wildlife instead.
3 guls and 5 pigeons did a stellar job of clearing leftover burgers, chicken, pizza and chips off several tables. Dive-bombing other customers as they went about their job.
Staff made no attempt to clear the birds or tables to stop the mess and unsanitary clean up. Tables also weren't cleaned once they were clear, the guls left their large webby prints all over the glass tables.

We hadn't finished our starters when mains arrived at the table. No apology or recognition from the waiting staff.

A glass of Malbec was ordered at this point, we had to explain it was red and not white wine.

Half way through the mains a glass of white arrived at the table. We explained which wine it should have been, staff looked confused and took it away. We didn't receive a glass of red, despite asking for it.

We ordered dessert in the hope that the experience could still be recovered. As dessert arrived, our bill came with it. We hadn't asked for it, we were still eating.
The same happened to the other tables around us.

The missing glass of wine was on our bill so we asked for it to be removed. The bill was taken away and presented back to us 25 minutes later after asking for it several times. The wine had been removed.

It then took a further 15 minutes for the card machine to appear. The waitress promised twice to bring it over, she only did so when she had her handbag on her shoulder and car keys in her hand.

We were going to raise all of these issues with a manager, but no-one knew what they were doing and we just wanted to get home.

I don't think I've ever left a review anywhere like this, but I really can't turn this one into a positive, so 2 stars it is (and they were for the food alone).

3  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthBeachBarGrill, team leader at South Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon,
firstly I apologise for your visit and we are very sorry that the service let us down we are currently training a new team and we have almost all of these issues that were letting us down resolved if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us on 01834843207.
regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1 105 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have used the Grill quite a lot beacause if its ice location,Wd have always enjoyed our visits ,up until yesterday.The food could only be described as average,and that's being kind ! we will not be going there again in a long while.Can I also suggest that they invest in more parasols !

Thank ron250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthBeachBarGrill, team leader at South Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon,
Firstly may I apologise for your visit with us, we are currently training a new team and there have been teething problems we can assure you that we are addressing these and training is on going and we are sure that if you visit us again you will have a much better experience if you would like to discuss this any further please do not hesitate to contact us on 01834843167.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feed back and we hopefully will look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in here as it has a great location overlooking south beach!
We had two pizza which were delicious.
Great themed decor through, although unfortunately let down by poor service as it was very slow and disorganised. Room for improvement.

Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthBeachBarGrill, Manager at South Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As the new manager this is my focus,and our focus as a team , we are getting there and hopefully will improve as soon as possible with our training and support, sincerely Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

4 of us ate here on 24/06/18 in the night time. Our food was excellent. We ordered hake x2, linguine and moules. All very good and cooked perfectly. Our service was not so good. Our drinks arrived 20 minutes after we ordered. Our food arrived at the same time as our drinks. Our waitress was bad and seemed very dopey. The establishment can't cope with providing table service so I'd suggest not providing it at all. Have a till system whereby customers go and order their food and drinks at the bar area. Reading through other people's reviews and it's a common theme of good food bad service.

1  Thank DirkGeerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthBeachBarGrill, Manager at South Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As the new manager this is my focus , however due to a very small bar, it would be impossible to do bar service as customers would be queing out the door , so we are recruiting more staff , who are confident and diligent, trying to stamp out the past lazy attitudes that have prevailed, sincerely Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited South Beach Bar & Grill both Saturday 23rd June and Sunday 24th June for food and drinks. Our food was superb. I had the Mussels and Linguine, my wife had the Linguine and the Red Snapper special option. Faultless food on both nights. Service however....Well where to start?! Very poor. Clearly not enough staff to be able to provide 'Table Service'. Our food arrived before our drinks on both occasions. Why not let customers go to the Bar and order a drink themselves, perhaps do Table Service inside only? Seemed very short staffed on both nights. Watched one waitress on Saturday night take a food order and not process it then she took 2 of the 6 meals to the table next to us and didn't bother to take the rest. We then watched her walk out of the restaurant with her bag etc still her table not having the remainder of their food which was waiting under the lights on the counter to be taken. Our server on Sunday (Dorothy) completely clueless. Lights were on but no one at home. I'm very surprised the Chef didn't shout at her. I did overhear a conversation with the young woman Chef and a woman Manager where the Chef asked the Manager to have a word with the waitress (Dorothy) and tell her to switch on because she neither had the time or food available to re cook mistakes. Which is fair enough and well handled by the young Chef given how much of a complete drip the waitress was yet she still took our tables food to another table. I have never experienced such utterly shocking service which is a real shame because the food was so good. Well done team kitchen!

3  Thank LewisMogsyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthBeachBarGrill, Manager at South Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I apologise for your poor visit due to the service Not provided, and this will be taken up with your waitress, and further training will eradicate this behaviour, as the new manager Service is my main focus, which is being implemented by most of my new team, but clearly not all. sincerely Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to South Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing