We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
US$229
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$130
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Lodge(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Avoncourt(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Antidote(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
90
12
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
12
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We had a beautiful family stay at The Hampton's, the self catering apartment was spacious and very comfortable for the four of us. It was exquisitely decorated and all the rooms were light and airy. It was a great base to explore North Devon and was an easy walk to tunnel beaches. There were great restaurants around and plenty to do for all the family. When we arrived we instantly felt very welcome, the children had their own room and bathroom each, other facilities included a very well appointed kitchen, wifi and a hot tub, which is positioned perfectly to enjoy the spectacular view. compared to other accommodation we looked at this apartment was excellent value for the money, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cazchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Stayed at The Hamptons for 4 nights when in Ilfracombe visiting family.

We stayed in 2 rooms - the best was Chantilly; both had all you would want from a B&B. Clean, well decorated and those little touches that are sometimes missed such as a kettle that works and plenty of tea bags.

The breakfasts are fantastic and Paul (the owner) and his daughter (10 yrs old and learning to work already :-)) do a great job of providing all you would want for the most important meal of the day.

Only points that you should consider are:
* Car access - the property is up a steep drive and so if you are not confident with your driving then it might be a good idea to be very careful when arriving. BUT don't forget that most places in Ilfracombe seem to be on a steep hill!
* In the Chantilly room the bath is great, but if you want a shower then roll top bath and shower curtain design don't leave a lot of space once the curtain is wrapped around the bath.

Other than these 2 small points, a great find and one that we will use again when we go back next summer.

Room Tip: Chantilly is the one for me
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

The Hampton's Hotel is a lovely hotel situated a short walk from Tunnels Beaches - which was handy as we had a wedding to attend at this beautiful venue! We were greeted by our friendly host and made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the Kashmir room which was at the front of the building with great views, it was very comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. Although the bathroom was on the smaller side, everything worked perfectly - a great wake up shower for the morning after the night before!!

Breakfast comes as part of your stay and is fabulous! We had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for our post wedding hangovers... And a full English ready for the journey home. All was very tasty and accompanied by proper coffee and juice. There was also muesli, yoghurt, fruit and cereal for those who want something lighter.

Our host made some great recommendations of where to go and explore in Ilfracombe. We strolled down into the town and harbour - both close enough to walk! Where we visited all the Hirst attractions, local shops and fabulous scenery. Even the Weatherspoons is worth a visit(!) as it has great views from the roof terrace (and cheap drinks!!)

There is a steep drive leading to the property (but all worth it for the views!!) the hotel offers torches for your evening return - although we managed without! There is parking directly in front of the building and we had none of the problems suggested in the negative reviews.

Thank you for making our stay a lovely and relaxing one - we hope to come back soon! Sarah & James

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsSDenleyDufton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

As an interior designer I chose this venue for its décor and wasn't disappointed. The Kashmir room is lovely and a good size. The bathroom is cosy but does have a full bath. The excellent finish throughout the hotel wasn't replicated in the bathroom which was a shame as otherwise the place is faultless.

Very friendly and accommodating owner who served an excellent breakfast.

Venue is up a very steep hill, my little Citroen struggled! Just outside the town centre which is about a ten minute walk away.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank sa6dba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We stayed here for a friends wedding for two nights and had a great stay. Warm welcome from Paul who showed us to our lovely vintage style decor rooms. Such a beautiful large house and a great spot for walking just five mins down the hill (some areas quite steep) into the town to explore.
Rooms very comfy with everything you would need. Our windows faced the back so we missed the gorgeous view our friends had from staying in the front facing room.
Breakfast was delicious. Both the English Breakfast and Eggs Benedict were so tasty.
Overall a lovely weekend in a great place and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great decor!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews