We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Ever!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spindrift Cottage

Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Private deck overlooking the quiet large tree lined garden and visiting wildlife. Lounge with patio doors opening onto a deck with patio furniture & BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Private deck overlooking the quiet large tree lined garden and visiting wildlife.
Lounge with patio doors opening onto a deck with patio furniture & BBQ
Open plan kitchen with high ceiling and wooden beams
Double bedroom with ensuite
Twin  Room with bathroom
Main bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Table tennis room
Large tree lined garden surrounded by hills
View of the courtyard garden
Driveway up to the cottage
Highland Cattle at the driveway entrance
Ruthven Barracks (adjacent) is floodlit at night
Loch Morlich and the Cairngorms nearby 20 minute drive
Tromie River, just l mile away, paddle or swim
Kingussie 1 mile (14 minutes walk) Kingussie Paths Network
Bird Reserve of Insh Marshes  1 mile
Loch an Eilein 10 miles
Ptarmigan Restaurant Cairngorm Mountain summer and winter
Skiing Cairngorm 30 minutes drive
Mountain Railway at Cairngorm Mountain 30 minute drive
Husky rally every January at Loch Morlich 20 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marjory M
1 review
“Best Ever!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spindrift Cottage Kingussie

Just back from our third visit to this immaculate cottage in the Scottish Highlands. The cottage is the best run, cleanest, warmest, most comfortable place we have ever stayed in a long list of holiday lets. Cannot rate it highly enough. Such charming friendly welcoming owners who cannot do enough for you – or leave you to your own devices if preferred. Double bedroom with shower room, twin bedroom with en suite shower room; lovely open plan kitchen, dining and living room with patio doors to sheltered deck. Look at the photos on their website and be assured that your every comfort is just waiting for you to visit. Everything you need is there.
The area around Kingussie has many attractions. Golf? Lovely golf course a mile up the road. Walking? From easy to challenging hill climbing(and skiing in winter). Wildlife? Bird cameras in the garden watching the constant movement of a variety of birds and there is the Highland Wildlife Park with its polar bears, wildcats and so much more just 4 miles away. Steam trains? Up to Aviemore and take a trip or even Sunday lunch while puffing along the rails to Boat of Garten. Gardening? Lovely Alpine Nursery with fab cakes not too far away.
In other words, why go anywhere else when you have such a comfortable base in the beautiful Cairngorm National Park with many attractions just waiting on your presence. Go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Could do with a better corkscrew!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Dear Guests, Thank you for your glowing review and all your lovely compliments about Sundowner Cottage and the beautiful area around us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your first review and we really look forward to seeing you both again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
777Penny7...
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed with John & Julie before at their B & B but this was the first time self - catering. Spindrift Cottage was a lovely, comfortable, relaxing place in which to spend the week. Extremely well equipped , warm & comfortable & we loved our stay there.

Will hopefully return in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review and we certainly hope to see you both again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigmunkey
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous as always!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed at Spindrift on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The cottage is fantastic and the welcome from Julie and John is always warm. We would thoroughly recommend to both couples and families with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Dear Guests, Thank you for your fabulous review, we are so pleased you enjoyed another holiday in Spindrift. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D
Mansfield
1 review
“Great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second trip to Spindrift and it will certainly not be our last. The facilities are second to none with John and Julie always making you feel welcome. The cottage is in a great location for touring the Cairngorms with its fabulous scenery and wildlife and also has good local facilities in Kingussie, Newtonmore and Aviemore. We still haven't scratched the surface of what we want to see in the area and have already built up a selection of favourite places to go back to. The photo's of the area in snow look great - maybe a winter trip next?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Dear Guests, We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and got out and about to see the area, a winter visit next year sounds great to us!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon9583...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent ..as always”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Second time I have stayed at Spindrift and just as the first time the cottage was immaculately clean. A pleasure to return 'home' each night to comfy sofas, beds and gallons of hot shower water. A very private cottage, not overlooked. I loved the fresh home made bread and wine which greeted me on arrival. Julie and John are great hosts without being intrusive. I am already planning to stay in 2017, which says it all really.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfy sofa, power shower, good beds.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased your second visit was every bit as good as the first. Thank you for such a great review and we hope to see you again in 2017.

Best wishes,
Julie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing