We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Balnabruaich

Views, location and walks / bike rides from the door make this cosy cottage perfect.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views, location and walks / bike rides from the door make this cosy cottage perfect.
The lounge / dining room with spectacular mountain views. The extremely well equipped kitchen has everything you could need.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Views, location and walks / bike rides from the door make this cosy cottage perfect.
The lounge / dining room with spectacular mountain views.
The extremely well equipped kitchen has everything you could need.
Main bedroom (King-size bed) with en-suite off.
Single bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Red squirrels in the garden. You will also see Woodpecker, Jay, many small birds, Deer and Hare.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Second visit to this holiday home and everything was perfect. Lovely location and as an added bonus it even snowed for us. A lovely Xmas tree was also there and it was like home from home. Thank you Judy. Perfect. Margaret and Peter Preece

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you Margaret and Peter. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that it was a good Christmas for you all. Best wishes Judy and Jules.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue613
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home & far from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Only a 10 minute drive from Kingussie but the wonderful feeling of peace & tranquillity. Unlike some rental properties, Balnabruaich is stocked with everything you could want...more kitchen utensils than I have at home! A spacious property with magnificent views of the hills with a welcoming homely feel about it. The owners Judy & Jules are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The website doesn't do the property justice but at least it isn't a "modern" website that contains photos of just a tap or a cushion!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review Sue. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Balnabruaich and looking forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances54...
Duns, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect holiday house !”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Balnabruaich is a warm and comfortable cottage and very well equipped. It is set in a most peaceful place on the edge of the forest and moors, and it is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful areas of Rothiemurchus and Inshriach. Red squirrels and many kinds of birds are just outside the the windows – entertainment laid on !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Thank you for your positive comments - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and the wonderful places around it. We hope to welcome you back some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyWhi...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning location, fantastic wildlife and excellent facilities ”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful time relaxing in a homely well equipped cottage that had all you could want for a great stay. The views from the lounge window were great over looking the Insh RSPB reserve in the valley. The wildlife in the garden and adjacent fields was varied including the daily visit from the red squirrel, hare, dear, partridge, pheasant and smaller birds on the feeders (the provided binoculars were well used for spotting). The location allowed walks from the cottage using the provided OS maps as well as easy access to The Cairngorms. It was a shame we didn't have our mountain bikes to take advantage of the trials too. The cottage owners provided all you could want and made sure the four of us and Jasper the dog had a delightful stay. We would certainly recommend the cottage and hopefully stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thanks very much for the great review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the cottage and the special location. We would definitely recommend a return visit with your mountain bikes - we can point you in the direction of a host of fantastic biking in the area. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielhaw...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great house in a great location.”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent accommodation, well equipped, plenty of room, very clean, and a great location, superb views and setting. All on the doorstep of the Cairngorms too, loads to do round about!
Judy was a great host, easy to book with, and checked in with us to see if everything was ok. Couldn't give this a higher recommendation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thanks for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and made the most of all the wonderful activities around here. Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing