We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting room”

Castletown Railway Station
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Part of the Isle of Man steam railway. Nice waiting room with details about the line and station. Small gift shop available.

Thank Sam3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant T, Station Master at Castletown Railway Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to hear from our visitors! Our gift shop is open daily when the trains are running.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"waiting room"
in 3 reviews
"port erin"
in 3 reviews
"isle of man"
in 2 reviews
"railway"
in 2 reviews
"douglas"
in 5 reviews
"island"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

Excellent museum with informative displays. Nice shop, member of staff on duty was a little off-hand with her customer skills.
Station a good place to relax and watch the shunting.

Thank Randoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant T, Station Master at Castletown Railway Station, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear about your experience with the staff; as you have titled your post "Museum and station" we imagine your visit was to the museum in Port Erin rather than Castletown which is an intermediate station along the line but we'll pass the feedback on for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We take a trip on the steam railway each time we visit the island. One of our favourite places is Castletown Railway Station. There is just something so sweet and timeless about it.
I would definitely recommend stopping on your journey. Castletown, itself, is a wonderful place for a visit.
Obviously, we really love the steam railway. I'm not sure this station would appeal to people who are not so inclined but the station buildings are interesting if you like architecture.

Thank Jakki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant T, Station Master at Castletown Railway Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Delighted to receive your feedback and hear that you enjoyed your visit to the station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Been here at this train station a few time's in the past and its still a great place to be. Not much changes here and that's just how it should be in this case. Its good to sit off and watch these old amazing trains pull in and out of the station.

Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant T, Station Master at Castletown Railway Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Many thanks for your review, we are always delighted to hear from our passengers and are grateful for the feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Like most attractions in the Isle of Man, the railway fell into disrepair and disuse in the mid 1960s. When somebody eventually realised that this was a mistake, the railway has slowly been restored over the years since to become what is now again a very pleasant commercial railway.

The station building is not used very much as a working part of the railway as the trains are very infrequent, but it does give an insight into the times when the railway was very busy.

Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant T, Station Master at Castletown Railway Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad to hear your enjoyed your visit, the station is the most historically in tact on the railway and the pride of the Friends Of... volunteer group who provide all the information and floral displays in conjunction with the railway staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castletown Railway Station also viewed

 

Been to Castletown Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing