We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable in a fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Portholes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma G
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our family of five stayed here for a week during the school Easter holidays. We also had our 7 month old Border Terrier in tow. The accommodation was very well equipped, very comfortable & modern, with plenty of room for all of us. The fast, free wifi was a big hit with the kids! And the location is fantastic. Just a few mins walk along the seafront path to Ventnor town & beach. Haylie was easy to get in touch with before we arrived and answered any questions prior to our holiday. We would definitely recommend Portholes as a great place to stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. So pleased you enjoyed your family holiday here. Hope you get to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard V
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location by the sea - clean and modern.”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Portholes is located a short stroll from the beachfront in Ventnor, and it is great having the sea right there all the time, especially when you open up the patio doors. It is a large cabin style accommodation, with a kitchen / living room to the front, 3 bedrooms and a bathroom - all were clean, modern and comfortable - we had 5 of us there (2 adults, 3 teenagers) and had plenty of room. The patio area has a table and chairs for eating out on nice nights. You are right on the esplanade / pathway so it is great for doing the coastal walks. It feels very light and open, especially with the view through the porthole!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
So pleased you appreciated the beauty of the sea on your door step and enjoyed Portholes. Thank you very much for taking valuable time to share your experience. Hope you get to come to the Island again. All the best Haylie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel201...
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation with a view- stunning place to stay for our 'mini moon'”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Portholes is a beautiful villa with absolutely everything you could want for a superb break after our wedding. It has been cleverly designed to make the best use of the villa and the amazing views. From the spacious living room which opens out onto the terrace where we enjoyed breakfast as we watched the world go by to the modern and well equipped kitchen, the comfortable bedrooms and bathroom with the luxurious rain shower head, Portholes was a wonderful base to explore the island. It is very well located, just a short stroll to Ventor town centre with lots of restaurants and cafes (and an amazing ice cream shop!). It is literally a stones throw from the sea and was wonderful to wake up in the morning with a stunning view and the sounds of the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views.
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed Portholes and gave time to doing a review. Hope you get to come back to this great location in Ventnor. Wishing you all the best as newly weds.
Haylie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliebrow...
stoke-on-trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best accommodation yet.”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I have been to Ventnor Villas many times as a child and three times as a parent of young children myself. We visited the newly refurbished 'Portholes' this year and what fantastic accommodation it was. Underfloor heating, powerful shower and rain shower, orthopaedic mattresses, use of excellent washing machine and dishwasher, all kitchen mod cons, smart TV, reliable wifi, extra toilet, comfortable lounge area, peaceful and quiet but close to all amenities along with one of the best views on the island make this villa perfect. Just like the rest of the island, these villas are family and dog friendly and make the perfect place to stay for anyone. We can't wait to book up for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modernisation, underfloor heating,washer.
Liked least: Holiday not long enough!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
It was great to be able to offer your family this wonderfully upgraded villa in this ideal location. Thank you for giving your valuable time to sharing your experience. Best wishes to your family. Haylie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A H
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great chalet, great location, a very happy holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The chalet makes great use of the available space, looks great and we felt really at home. A short walk into Ventnor, with lovely views of the sea. Goodness Ventnor is steep though! It was not a problem for us and is indeed a feature of the place, but worth noting that it's a steep walk down to the chalet and a steep walk back up to the nearest shop. The chalet was well insulated (a bit too warm until we switched the very efficient heating off!) which would make it a great location even in the colder months, decorated beautifully and very comfortable. Good shower, two loos, decent wifi (virtually no phone signal though), excellent patio furniture - everything we needed except a DVD player and egg cups: no hardship! We loved our stay and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor / comfort / location
Liked least: Lack of DVD player
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review as I know how valuable time is, so glad your family enjoyed your break.
We weren't sure about putting a DVD player in as it was decided to have a smart TV to enable you to log into the wifi and access i-player and other apps. Will consider this though and thank you for bringing up about egg cups.
Hope to see you again for another happy holiday. All the best to your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing