We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic base for a relaxing holiday on the Isle...”
other travellers have booked this property
Clarence House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Clarence House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Clarence House
Lounge
Dining with views of the park
King Size Bed with Posture Support Mattress
Fully Equipped Modern Kitchen
Luxurious Bedding, Towels and Toiletries
Hydrangea walk
Ventnor Botanical Gardens
Park of the Year Award 2014, Ventnor
Ventnor Beach looking right
Ventnor Beach looking left
Local Harbour
Saint Catherine's Lighthouse
Rambling along the cliff tops
Osborne House
Perfect Cycling Spot
Dinasaure Discoveries
Round the Island Boat Race at The Needles
Ventnor is renowned as the best place for fresh seafood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
worrall1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for a relaxing holiday on the Isle of Wight.”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We recently returned from a very relaxing holiday staying at the 'Victoria' self catering apartment, Clarence House, Ventnor. Clarence House is situated on a quiet road opposite Ventnor park with its stunning coastal views and a 10 minute walk from the bars and restaurants of Ventnor and the beach there. The owners Gillian and Robert are a lovely couple who make your stay in their home extremely enjoyable. They have decorated and furnished the apartment to a very good standard and it is equipped with all you need to make your stay comfortable.
I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Clarence house, though for the wheel chair users, or the less mobile access would be difficult as the guest entrance is to the rear of the property and is accessed by a flight of steps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great accommodation. Superb location,
Liked least: Personally found the bed small. Would have preferred a king size.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury and true home from home!”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have been staying on the Isle of Wight for over 25 years and I can honestly say that this was the best place we have stayed in. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and genuinely wanted us to feel at home. The location was perfect just a 10 minute walk from the sea and literally over the road from Ventnor park and the botanical gardens. We shall definitely be returning (if Gillian and Robert will have us?).
Thank you Gillian and Robert for sharing your beautiful home with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam267
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"There was nothing I would change"”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful apartment for a short break to celebrate my birthday.
We have had a couple of stressful months and our visit to Clarence House was for us to relax.
From the moment we arrived and we're welcomed by Gillian ,our lovely host (we met Robert later who was as equality nice) we were made to very welcome.
Our beautiful apartment had everything we could need for our break ,quality furnishings, quality fluffy towels and lovely bed linen .
The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything you would need for a self catering holiday ,including some extra 's that our thoughtful hosts knew we would need .
The finishing touches Gillian added were great,chocolates by the bed , nice toiletries in the ensuite ,a lovely cd/radio player .
Ventnor offered us some great places to eat including The Met( a fab Tapas Resturant )and the SpyGlass pub which served great pub food .

.Gillian and Robert recommended some other lovely place to eat ,which we hope to visit on our next visit to Clarence House .
The Isle of Wight is a relaxing place to visit especially out of season ,we spent many hours walking the coastline enjoying the superb views.
We can't wait to return and hope to stay in one of the other apartment (only because they look as equally beautiful)we hope the weather will be as kind to us as it was this weekend ,but to be honest I'd be happy to relax indoors in our beautiful apartment
We returned home very relaxed and this was largely down to the peaceful Island and the beautiful apartment we stayed in
Thank you Gillian and Robert for sharing your beautiful home with us .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alienhen2...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely time in Ventnor”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time in this lovely apartment within easy walking distance of the town and esplanade. The apartment is warm, bright, well equipped and welcoming. We only stayed 3 nights and did not cook but there are full facilities for self catering if you wanted to. Great food recommendations from the owners.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midgyminx
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“what a lovely spot ..”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed at clarence house in august, in apartment 2 which had just been renovated. we were only there for 2 nights but it really is a breath of fresh air literally . Ventnor itself was a complete surprise with great restaurants, walks and views and we were extremely lucky with the weather. Clarence House is right opposite a charming park, that leads you straightt to the cliffs and down to the beach. the botanical gardens are also only a few minutes walk away, and they are stunning.

Clarence House itself is set on a great wide boulevard street just set back from the beach, lovely and quiet but walkable to everything . A large imposing house , set back from the street with large gardens to the front and stepped terraces with tables and chairs to the rear , the entrance was covered completely in hydrangea which looked absolutely stunning . .the apartment that we stayed in was beautifully decorated with lots of lovely little details like chocolates waiting on the bedside table, a picnic hamper available in the apartment and a very well equipped modern kitchen where you could easily stay in and cook if you wanted to. i would highly recommend Clarence House and could have easily stayed longer and theres certainly plenty to do on the island .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is stunning
Liked least: i loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing