We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a very special place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakers Sound

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome.......... Magnolia Tree
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome..........
Magnolia Tree
Sitting Room
Sitting Room Log Burner Fireplace in Portland Stone
Comfy...........
Log Burner
Bathroom
Ground floor bath and shower room
Bathroom seagulls
Kitchen
kitchen
Kitchen
Garden Double Bedroom
Garden Bedroom
Garden Double Bedroom
Garden with sea views
Sea views of the English channel from the property
Middle Twin Bedroom
Sea view from the middle bedroom
Sea view from the bedroom
Nearby Steep Hill Cove Beach
Ventnor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a very special place”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We feel so privileged to have had an opportunity to stay in this beautiful cottage. My husband booked it as a special birthday treat for me, knowing how much I loved thatched cottages. I was immediately taken back to my childhood summer holidays at my grandmother's family home, although that didn't have all mod cons like Breakers Sound! This was our first trip to IOW so the cottage was ideally placed for us to explore the island and nowhere is very far away.

The cottage is beautifully furnished with some lovely old features, like the radio & telephone in the hall. Everything you could possibly want is provided, the beds are SO comfy and it's spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the morning room with views over the garden to the sea, the sun streaming in through the French doors and it was often warm enough to have them open - straight on to one of the patios. Absolute bliss!

As for the gardens, well, it's like stepping into a peaceful time gone by, the only noise is bird song, secret paths to explore, patios with tables & chairs, an arbour to dream under with afternoon cream teas - idyllic!

Have already recommended it to several friends and we are already thinking of our next visit, hopefully at a warmer time of year so we can enjoy the garden even more.

Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, garden, peace & quiet, quality furnishings - all of it!
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Oh my, I am blown away at your lovely lovely review, thank you so so much.
When I let out Breakers Sound I always tried to create a home from home when the traveller felt at ease straight away.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razor013
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage with beautiful gardens and a sea view. We felt at home as soon as we arrived, the cottage is comfortable, homely and very well equipped. Situated in a good location and not far from Ventnor and the main roads to the rest of the island. We would definitely recommend staying at Breakers Sound and would stay again when we next return to the Isle of Wight. Fab!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Breakers Sound. I have always strived to create a comfy home from home for all my guests to enjoy. Thanks again. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I just love getting responses like this.
Look forward to welcoming you back anytime soon.
Kind regards
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Slightly soft mattress in the south bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Dear Ward Family.
I am overwhelmed by your glowing generous review of your holiday to Breakers Sound.
Over the years, I have put a great deal of pride and effort into providing a country cottage home from home for holiday makers to enjoy.
I am so glad you used the many vases to fill the home with flowers.
I am also very glad that you have already booked to return next August 2017. Thank you very much.
Reviews like yours make it all worth while.
Kind regards
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BGroeneve...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wonderful garden, great house. Very well equipped. Perfectly organised. We had a fantastic time. Lovely, lovely, lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Breakers Sound.
Kind regards
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$202
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing