We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation & a warm welcome from...”
The lovely Albury palm veranda, the Villa is on the left and the Cottage is on the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lovely Albury palm veranda, the Villa is on the left and the Cottage is on the right
The Albury, Shanklin Est. !871, now newly refurbished retaining its Victorian character The Albury palm veranda, a perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The lovely Albury palm veranda, the Villa is on the left and the Cottage is on the right
The Albury, Shanklin Est. !871, now newly refurbished retaining its Victorian character
The Albury palm veranda, a perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.
The pretty Albury Cottage lounge
Pretty Albury Cottage lounge - complimentary bottle of wine included in your welcome hamper
The Albury Cottage Kitchen/Diner
The Albury Cottage Kitchen/Diner
The Albury Cottage Kitchen/Diner
The pretty, nautical Albury Cottage Twin Bedroom with a sink
The pretty, natutical Albury Cottage Twin bedroom with a sink
The Albury Cottage double bedroom, with en-suite shower room
Upstairs at the Albury Cottage with sea glimpses
Albury Cottage Hall
Albury Cottage Hall
Albury Cottage Hall
Albury Cottage bathroom (there is also an en-suite shower room and a separate downstairs cloakroom)
Under the grapevine, pretty private seating area at the side of the Cottage
The Albury Cottage veranda
The Albury Villa photo's
Historical pub on Hope Beach, a stroll away from The Albury
Just part of the stunning long sandy Hope Beach, minutes from The Albury.
Small Hope beach, home to the Shanklin Sailing Club, Shanklin Rowing Club and water activities
Sandy Hope Beach at the end of the road from The Albury, home of the Shanklin Deep Sea Fishing Club
The charming, quaint Shanklin Old Village, just around the corner from The Albury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda S
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation & a warm welcome from owner.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My sister & I thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at The Albury Cottage which was very clean, comfortable and homely, a perfect location as Shanklin is beautiful. We had a very warm welcome and we much appreciated the welcome hamper. The Village Inn in the old part of Shanklin served an excellent Sunday Roast and we had a brilliant meal at The Crab & Lobster in Bembridge.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna j
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely based to explore the island”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Right from the word go Elaine was very helpful right the way through from booking up to the lovely warm welcome and goody basket when we arrived.
This is a lovely little cottage with plenty of little touches that make it a very nice place to stay and we where able to bring our little cocker spaniel. Close to the beach and the old village with plenty of great places to eat. Would recommend to anyone!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allie g
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value for money, central location and excellent service.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I had an excellent time staying at Elaine's B & B. Our room clean, comfy and quiet. We had out own lounge room and the breakfast each morning was amazing. We had a choice of full English or continental of which we had both and they were equally delicious.

On our last night Elaine left us a bottle of wine to enjoy, clearly a woman after our own hearts.

We have been to the Isle of Wight several times and we are so glad we have found The Albury. It's a cut above all the rest and without doubt the best value for money in the whole of Shanklin.

Thanks for a great time Elaine in the words or Arnie 'we will be back'!! x

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean & comfortable
Liked least: it was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeicsTrav...
Leics
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in a nice cottage.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We (my partner and i and our 2 yr old) were warmly greeted by Elaine who also provided us with a much appreciated hamper. The cottage was clean and comfy for our week long stay. It is a 5 min walk to the beach lift or a 10 min stroll down. It is about a 10 min walk to the Old Village which is very quaint.The car parking space for the cottage is very tight, so be careful!! I would recommend the cottage to friends visiting the IOW.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORileys20...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Elaine made our stay relaxed and a really special vacation. This was our first trip away as a family - our son being 3 months old, and Elaine made us feel at ease and at home.

The b+b was lovely and the setting was amazing, everything you could want for a relaxed and at ease holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcoming attitude
Liked least: Nothing, it was a lovely place to stay
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing