We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location and has everything you need for...”
The Patio from ground level.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views
Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Sit and eat while watching the world go by through our mirrored window
Our lounge again from a different angle
Relax on our comfy 2 or 3 seater sofas before heading out for the day or deciding where to eat later
Our comfy lounge
Our fully equipped kitchen plus info corner for all your local and my personal food recommendations
Another view of our fully equipped kitchen area
Our double bedded room
Our double bedroom showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table. With touch lamp light.
This is our twin bedded room. It also has a three brightness touch lamp on the bedside cabinet
Our twin bedded room showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table again with a touch lamp light
Access to your Private patio from the main walkway
This is the view of Culver Cliff and Sandown Bay from our patio
The local sailing club venture out Sunday mornings and a couple of evenings a week.
Picture of the Round the Island Yacht Race, held annually in June.Great view from outside your door.
One of many sunrises you can witness...if your up early enough!!
Sun rise right in front of your dining table window..again though another early get up needed!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BlackerTr...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and has everything you need for a fantastic holiday on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this apartment primarily on the back of the fantastic reviews. Having never been to the Isle of Wight before we didn't really need to know what to expect.
Well what can I say? We arrived early after booking a ridiculously early ferry (8.30 in the morning to be exact). We found the apartment and decided to go for breakfast on the seafront. Sara noticed us parked up and introduced herself. She made every effort to arrange for the apartment to be ready earlier for us and was very welcoming.
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the apartment. There is a single car park space at the back of the property.
Every effort has been made to make this a perfect base for a holiday. We travelled with 2 young children and whilst it is admittedly fairly small, it is more than adequate for us for a weeks break. The kitchen was extremely well equipped. Everything has been thought of and Sara was kind enough to put some milk in the fridge so that we could have a cup of tea before heading out to the local Supermarket. Flowers and a bottle of wine are also an additional lovely touch.
There are ample brochures, guides and magazines about the Island and a huge folder detailing information about the apartment and the local area.
Then there is the view. What an amazing location. A stones throw from the beach. We found ourselves on numerous occasions leaving the top half of the door open and windows so that we could hear the waves. Even on a very wet day, we were more than comfortable enjoying some rest time back at base. Sara even spared some time to pop in to have a Euro 2016 Panini Swap with my son. That absolutely made his day and he still talks about that now. Thanks Sara!
If I was to be picky (and I am really struggling) it would be the bathroom. We were unable to work out how to use the shower to get a consistent heat - it was either boiling hot or freezing but we managed with the bath so it wasn't really a big issue. To be fair I am sure if we had mentioned it Sara would have shown us how to work it!
Shanklin is truly lovely. Plenty to do with the children when they are not on the beach - funfair, golf, amusements and tonnes of places to eat and drink. The old town is particularly lovely with an abundance of award winning tea rooms and bags of history to boot. The Shanklin Chine is a hidden gem. We visited the Steam Railway and the Needles whilst there as well as exploring a number of the beaches. All of which were wonderful days out.
A fantastic half term break had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased you had a great time. As for the Euro Panini sticker exchange, I had great fun too, even though they are my sons not mine!!!!! I wish you had mentioned the shower, I would have shown you. Thank our once again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greyfriar...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“will be going back”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a view to wake up to every morning. The apartment is cosy and well equipped,and extra touches such as tea, coffee and milk on arrival, plus wine and flowers make it stand out above the norm. Sara is so welcoming and helpful, it really feels like home from home and we can't wait to go back! The second bedroom is small but perfectly adequate, and the whole place was spotlessly clean. The off street parking is a huge bonus, and the location was ideal, places to eat nearby and the beach just across the road. Although within easy reach of facilities, the location was quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the welcome and location
Liked least: nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind review. You certainly had the best weather of the whole summer! We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we would love to have you come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous.”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Have been trying to think of what to say about our stay, other than GREAT! Everything spot on, the apartment although not big has absolutely everything you require and even with a rather tall and in your face brother had plenty of room. Sara has thought of everything to make the apartment like a home from home. We had the best weather of the summer and took advantage of it, sitting on the patio having breakfast, watching the sea and all its traffic go by, strolling along the shore etc. We also found the apartment to be in the ideal spot for travelling round the Island, and knowing you had a designated parking area whatever time of day made a big difference. We'd all like to thank Sara for everything, being on hand if needed and having the best ice cream. Hopefully we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you for the great review you have written for us. I am so glad that you had a wonderful holiday and that the weather was the best we had had for quite a while, and yes the ice cream (made on the Isle of Wight) is the best!! But then I am a bit biased!! We would really enjoy seeing you again. Thank you once again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday42...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the property slightly earlier than planned, but this was not a problem. Greeted warmly by Sara, the owner, who showed us around the property which was very clean and comfortable. Lots of little touches made for a stress free holiday, with everything you required to hand for self-catering purposes. The location was absolutely ideal, and the allocated parking space at the back of the property was invaluable. We had a fantastic relaxing holiday and would return without hesitation. One last accolade - the hot chocolate supplied by the owner was fab!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased that you had a great time, and that you had the best weather for your visit as it has got rather wet since you went back home. Hope the hot chocolate has lasted, let me know if you would like some more!!! It would be lovely to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wastanbri...
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic, clean and comfy apartment overlooking the sea with lovely scenery. Would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic apartment located right on the sea front. We found this apartment very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. We were greeted by the owner who made us feel very welcome and left us with a complimentary bottle of wine and flowers. This apartment was ideal for us as the beach was 30 seconds across the road , where my 2 sons could enjoy all the beach facilities and kayaks. We didn't have a car but found this no problem as the buses and Island Coaster, for day trips,stop right outside. Found Shanklin Old Town only about 10 mins walk away for handy shops.The owner and everyone we met were so welcoming, friendly and went out of their way to see we had a good holiday. We will have lots of great memories and will certainly go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, friendliness, comfortable
Liked least: only had 2 weeks!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
What a great review, thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Your boys are a credit to you both. The sales of cakes and twix etc have gone down dramatically in the shop since you went home! Hopefully we will see you again. Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing