We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“homely comfortable and spotless”
The Patio from ground level.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Patio from ground level.
Relax outside with a refreshment and wonderful sea views
Sit and relax after a day of sight seeing or sunbathing with Sky Freeview on our 50in flat screen TV
Sit and eat while watching the world go by through our mirrored window
Our lounge again from a different angle
Relax on our comfy 2 or 3 seater sofas before heading out for the day or deciding where to eat later
Our comfy lounge
Our fully equipped kitchen plus info corner for all your local and my personal food recommendations
Another view of our fully equipped kitchen area
Our double bedded room
Our double bedroom showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table. With touch lamp light.
This is our twin bedded room. It also has a three brightness touch lamp on the bedside cabinet
Our twin bedded room showing a full size wardrobe and dressing table again with a touch lamp light
Access to your Private patio from the main walkway
This is the view of Culver Cliff and Sandown Bay from our patio
The local sailing club venture out Sunday mornings and a couple of evenings a week.
Picture of the Round the Island Yacht Race, held annually in June.Great view from outside your door.
One of many sunrises you can witness...if your up early enough!!
Sun rise right in front of your dining table window..again though another early get up needed!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
linda h
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“homely comfortable and spotless”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Home from home couldn't have been better
Sara very helpful and made us very welcome without being intrusive
We had everything we needed and more lovely to eat breakfast in the morning looking out to sea and over the esplanade the mirrored window was a brilliant idea
Already looking forward to a return visit in 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you for your review, its nice to know that you had a great time with us. As promised as soon as I am able to have 2015 prices added I will let you know. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackadde...
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and well-furnished”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this apartment isn't in the prettiest building, especially viewed from the parking space at the back, but once inside that doesn't matter. We were warmly welcomed by Sara on arrival, and there was plentiful tea, coffee and milk waiting for us. The lounge is very spacious and comfortable, and our girls enjoyed the huge TV. I liked all the seaside-themed pictures and ornaments. The view from the front window is of the sea - what could be better, although in April the seafront can be a bit cold and windy, so we did need to put heaters on sometimes. There were several lovely fleeces and blankets around to wrap up in whilst waiting for the room to warm up. The kitchen area is well-equipped for 4 people, though I did struggle with the tin-opener!
Both bedrooms overlook the parking area, but at least there was plenty of natural light, compared to others places we have stayed in Shanklin and Ventnor where you are looking out onto a cliff face or a neighbouring wall! The beds were very comfortable, however, be aware that the double bed is against a wall so you might need to climb over each other or approach from the foot of the bed! With smaller children I'd recommend they go in the double and the adults have the larger twin-bedded room.
The bathroom is in the middle of the apartment, therefore no windows, but there is an efficient but noisy extractor. The hot water comes from an immersion tank, so you have to remember to switch it on for your bath, then give it some time before the next bath. There is an electric shower, which I didn't really get on with, but that might just be me.
Sara has a comprehensive information book, and various leaflets available too. She is also very usefully on hand for any queries, or to recommend the best fish and chips etc.
By the way, we recommend the Aqua Brasserie next door for quality, good-value meals, and excellent service.
All in all a good choice and we had a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. Fortunately our main asset is the sea view right in front of the Apartment and apart from parking, there really is no need to go to the rear of the building! I have taken note of the other comments you have written, but I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal P
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An exceptional aparment, with an equally amazing view.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The apartment is extremely well maintained and tastefully decorated. The hostess is extremely helpful and warm you won't regret staying here.
The location is prime, opening onto the beach.

Definitely recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and I hope your parents have a safe onward journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A LITTLE GEM !!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This apartment was a little gem !! Excellent views and location. It was spacious enough for four people. Sara was very friendly and helpful. We have to say that this is the best rented accommodation we have ever stayed in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location / view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobGibs
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hospitality, great location and a lovely sea view.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a lovely stay. A very well equipped apartment with a very friendly owner who went the extra mile to ensure that her guests had a great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The piece of driftwood your son found still has pride of place in the display cabinet in the shops. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you for choosing Seagull View for your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing