We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of The Crab Inn

The Crab Inn
Ranked #27 of 84 Restaurants in Shanklin
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch with family. Two courses. Very slow in arriving and it wasn’t particularly busy. Starters arrived staggered so by the time mine arrived, my wife had finished hers. When the mains arrived, same experience. To make matters far worse, I ordered a vegetable masala and when it finally arrived, I was presented with a chicken masala which I took a bite of before I realised (not great as a vegetarian). I pointed out the error. I had to chase up the replacement as it took so long to arrive. Everyone had finished theirs before my replacement arrived. It was hardly worth the wait when it arrived. Certainly can not recommend.

1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, General Manager at The Crab Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you had a bad experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 1 600 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This place I'm afraid was awful came here sat 31 march Easter sat ordered at 8 pm starters arrived 35 mins later mains then a further 25 later chips were cold wife's chicken breast had seen better days and was hard n overcooked and food very bland busy hence while there was at least 4 items missing off the menu our table was near to entrance and cold due to number of people in n out

1  Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, General Manager at The Crab Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Having spent a long weekend in shanklin we decided to go for a walk around the centre and came across this pub in a beautiful setting. Good pub food that was cooked perfectly and would highly recommend to anyone who wants a pub meal in a friendly atmosphere

Thank clairegreen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, General Manager at The Crab Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Ate at this busy restaurant on an Easter weekend for dinner. Food arrived around 45 minutes after ordering which would be average. Served hot and it was surprisingly tasty as it was from the 'super saver menu' and I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. My first experience of eating at one of this restaurant chain locations. The Inn was very busy and obviously popular as 'walk-ins' were having to be turned away.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jennigp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, General Manager at The Crab Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Whilst in Shanklin I thought I would visit the Crab. After placing my food order and purchasing a drink from the bar I glanced at my food receipt. I found that on my food order I had an extra bowl of chips. Firstly I thought that maybe the main order did not come with chips but would wait for the order to arrive. I was away from the table and got back to find my food order had been left there with two portions of chips. I had to leave my food (getting cold) return the extra chips and ask for a refund. This spoiled what should have been a treat as I can not always get out for a meal My advice to other fellow customers- check your receipt as you don't what added extras you might get

1  Thank Josie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, General Manager at The Crab Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your comments, We are sorry that you had a problem with your bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Inn also viewed

 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Crab Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing