We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much Veg !”

The Steamer Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Quick Bites in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We were on holiday in Shanklin and 1 evening decided to go to The Steamer Inn. It was Busy. We did find a table, but on the side for The Smokers, Great. Went to the Bar to order, we were in the Wrong Que. So we joined the Que to order the Food. We were in the way of the Staff bringing Food out & going back to the Kitchen. We eventually ordered our Food & Drinks, then had to Que at the Bar for our Drinks. Got back to out table, then the Food came up. Why do you have to have 5 Veg on your plate with a Pie ? 1 of which was Red Cabbage ??? Who eats this ? The Food was O.K. but the amount of Veg was a complete Waste.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger97544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Hello, as you noticed, we are a very small pub inside so we need to make use of the space that we can. This means we have an efficient system of having only one queue for food, so that our small kitchen can keep up with the demand of our busy pub. We send people around to the bar to pick up drinks as this means that line for food is constantly on the go, which means you get your food quicker.
We often get compliments on our vegetable variety, however, we do have a "light bite" section on our menu for smaller appetites which may have been more suited to you.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 1 658 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely food with a lovely out look of the coast and beach competitive prices good service good selection on the menu

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this review, I am glad you had a wonderful time with us!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Perfect for a good pub meal. Great view right on Shanklin seafront, with a good selection of real ale.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank MandKDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review! Our bar manager does a fantastic job of ordering a large variety of ales!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Great location and outside verandas looked after well with hanging baskets etc. Staff very willing to serve over the two days we visited. Food pretty good apart from a tough steak. Oh - and probably the best wi-fi you could hope for.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank kenBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review, I hope we sorted the steak out for you at the time.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

This has got to be the best place to eat in shanklin the food is stunning and the service is fantastic. They offer a wide choice and the portion size is generous to say the least.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank taffy6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this review, our menu is huge to match our portion sizes!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steamer Inn Restaurant also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Steamer Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing