We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and drink by the sea.”

The Steamer Inn Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On our first evening in Shanklin we found this place as we walked along the beach, looked good and found the place welcoming with plenty of seating inside and out although it does become busy later on. The food looked really good with a varied menu.
We called in again the next evening for food, both meals were excellent with prompt service.
Find a table first then order from side bar inside, when it's very busy you may have a short wait for your meal as they are all cooked to order. Very happy with the service and food, lovely to sit and eat out side over looking the sea.

Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for this kind review!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1 507 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordered fish pie should be renamed cheesy potato with a hint of fish.. very dissapointing..The view was great .

Thank k8mciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello, I hope this was rectified at the time for you. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this pub as last minute lunch/dinner option before catching Fishbourne ferry back to Portsmouth. Not disappointed I chose fish burger and chips and another one of our group a burger and chips. Great food and service, good portions. Only small complaint was my husband said his veg with his Vegan stew was not hot enough and I said he should ask for it to be heated up a bit more. Other than that a great place in a great location with good views. Would definitely go back.

Thank arc1bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I hope we made the vegan stew a bit warmer for you for your husband.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Choose to eat hear from reviewing others feedback, so thought location excellent on the seafront, looks really busy, must be good. Staff friendly, menu extensive. Food totally disappointing, fish and chips - fish was soggy and not crispy x 2 so quite a bit got left, scampi Caesar salad the same, soggy breadcrumbed scampi, with masses of lettuce leaves, way too many, where variety could have been added to create more texture and flavour. I couldn't like it to restaurant quality food unfortunately more to seaside holiday cafeteria. Sorry it wasn't for us and can't recommend it.

1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello, sorry that you did not enjoy your meals, I hope this was rectified at the time for you.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very busy evening with families, friends and pets!! We had a great meal and enjoyed the activities around us. The views are great as are the staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynda657705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steamer Inn Restaurant also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Steamer Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing