We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good pub, good selection on menu including gluten free Vegan option fo husband, excellent service”

The Steamer Inn Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 87 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We visited this pub as last minute lunch/dinner option before catching Fishbourne ferry back to Portsmouth. Not disappointed I chose fish burger and chips and another one of our group a burger and chips. Great food and service, good portions. Only small complaint was my husband said his veg with his Vegan stew was not hot enough and I said he should ask for it to be heated up a bit more. Other than that a great place in a great location with good views. Would definitely go back.

Thank arc1bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I hope we made the vegan stew a bit warmer for you for your husband.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 1 648 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Choose to eat hear from reviewing others feedback, so thought location excellent on the seafront, looks really busy, must be good. Staff friendly, menu extensive. Food totally disappointing, fish and chips - fish was soggy and not crispy x 2 so quite a bit got left, scampi Caesar salad the same, soggy breadcrumbed scampi, with masses of lettuce leaves, way too many, where variety could have been added to create more texture and flavour. I couldn't like it to restaurant quality food unfortunately more to seaside holiday cafeteria. Sorry it wasn't for us and can't recommend it.

1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Hello, sorry that you did not enjoy your meals, I hope this was rectified at the time for you.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Very busy evening with families, friends and pets!! We had a great meal and enjoyed the activities around us. The views are great as are the staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynda657705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Just returned from the steamer inn at Shanklin. The staff are very friendly and the food excellent. We had the fish and chips and captain ahab might as well come home because I just ate his wale. Well worth a visit but go early to ensure you get a table

Thank leasowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review! We like to make sure you are full to the brim with our food.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were a party of five and ate on the terrace. Food was excellent, service very quick and we really enjoyed our lunchtime experience.

Thank NinaGeoffandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steamer Inn Restaurant also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Steamer Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing