We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled against the cliff overlooking the water great spot!”

The Steamer Inn Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 87 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Very busy evening with families, friends and pets!! We had a great meal and enjoyed the activities around us. The views are great as are the staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynda657705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 1 649 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Just returned from the steamer inn at Shanklin. The staff are very friendly and the food excellent. We had the fish and chips and captain ahab might as well come home because I just ate his wale. Well worth a visit but go early to ensure you get a table

Thank leasowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review! We like to make sure you are full to the brim with our food.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were a party of five and ate on the terrace. Food was excellent, service very quick and we really enjoyed our lunchtime experience.

Thank NinaGeoffandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review!
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The restaurant was busy inside and outside; despite an occasional blustery blow and the threat of rain in the distance I enjoyed sitting outside. My friend went to the bar to order from the light lunch portion of the menu I chose pate and he chose whitebait Our choices had salad, dips, chutney and sufficient brown and white bread to accompany both. Very tasty and enjoyable (real whitebait I'm told) I'm so glad we chose this place. The price was very reasonable and my only gripe would be sodding wooden bread boards to eat from!! Lets hope this fashion fades very quickly. Bring back china or earthenware or anything in-between.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bridgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for this review, I've let our kitchen know about the feedback about wooden plates.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We frequently visit for lunch for when on the Island with family as the food is of great quality and value for money.
A variety of dishes so something for everyone. Kids are well catered for too with chips NOT served with everything!
Staff made great fuss over our doggy and he was given some doggy biscuits!
Good portion sizes and all freshly cooked so gran yourself a cold something from the bar and sit down to enjoy.
The views aren't bad either!

Thank rosie u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Johnson1, Manager at The Steamer Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you for this lovely review, dogs are most of our staff's weak spot! I am glad you enjoyed your visit.
Kind regards,
Maxine,
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steamer Inn Restaurant also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Steamer Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing