We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
130
163
132
76
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
163
132
76
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews break with national holidays national coach sound of the waves first floor shanklin beach a sea view room waiting staff coach parties bit dated great holiday new owners enjoyable stay the cliff tea and coffee plenty of choice many thanks full english
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed just for one night, while over for Isle of Wight festival. Room was clean .Bed was comfy good mattress and nice soft pillow.Shower good, good temperature control easy for daughter to use.Breakfast ok, a bit poor on the bacon ; just one small piece.Staff ok, could of been a bit more friendly.Good budget hotel.Needs a bit of updating tlc.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank sarahogg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Stayed at this hotel last week with a coach party. Where do I start. The hotel has a few positives. Has a prime position right on the sea front.. Most of the staff were helpful and polite. Evening entertainment was very good.
Negatives Mostly all young people running hotel no management seen in the 6 days we were there, never anybody at reception desk, but to be fair there was a bell you could ring to call somebody if anybody was around in earshot of the bell.

Our room was terrible ill fitting curtains pillows were so uncomfortable we had 4 between us to start with I requested another 2 pillows all full of lumps. The mattress was a joke there was a blanket in-between the mattress and top sheet to protect us from the bed springs, however this did not work. I requested a different mattress this was just ignored. Eventually after sleepless nights I explained that we could not have another night on this mattress so suggested that we would sleep on top of the bed and suggested another cover to cover ourselves after 2 requests we were given another duvet.
The food was not very good at all I had a pasta dish one night it was so bad I was unable to eat it. I suggest you stick to the salads. (no cooking involved) I had salad most nights. We like most people go on holiday for a rest and good food, we received neither at this hotel and definitely will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jutland2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Staff were rude, especially receptionist. Breakfast staff seemed annoyed that we wernt part of a private booking. As soon as we arrived the receptionist said you owe us £60 in an aggressive manor. On the reception desk itself was a big notice asking for tips - this theme followed us to our room - there was a form of envelope for tips and then the first page of the welcome pack asked for tips. Not very welcoming at all. If I could give them one tip would be focus on customer service. The breakfast was like slop. The shower and bathroom was about the size of that you would expect to find in a very small caravan. Would not stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mancman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We stayed here on a budget coach holiday so were not expecting a five-star establishment. There seems to be some confusion on their actual star rating as some places on the internet give it three stars but outside of the hotel is shows a 2-star rating. Marc the manager came onboard and greeted us, and staff then helped carry cases into the hotel. Our key cards were ready and waiting at Reception. There is one lift to all floors but if you have a mobility problem be aware that there are some steps and stairs on each floor as the building was originally two hotels which are now combined. Even though we were on the first floor we had to climb up about ten stairs from the main corridor to reach our room.
RECEPTION; Although staffed on our arrival we seldom saw anyone there during our stay. If you need assistance it means to have to hunt for a staff member, usually found in the bar area. This also means that anyone can walk in from the street as the main entrance leads directly onto the pavement. Not good for security.
BEDROOM; We found that the beds and pillows were very comfy for us. As it was a family room we had plenty of drawer and wardrobe space for the 2 of us but I wouldn’t think a group of 4 would find it inadequate. There is a TV and fully stocked tea/coffee tray. Iron and hairdryer are on request. There is no telephone in any of the rooms. All the floorboards creak, our friends below us could hear our every move as could we for the people above us on the second floor. Our room was at the rear overlooking the car park which is used by both staff and guests. Although we slept with the 2 fanlights open this did not cause us any bother. The bathroom was small but clean. Liquid soap dispensers and in the shower (which is small if you are above average size) and by the basin. Towels are changed on request. As is often the case there was only one small glass shelf about the sink and nowhere to put toilet bags other than on the floor. Our room was not serviced at all on our first full day there so as there is no phone it meant a trip downstairs to report it; no-one at reception so the bar staff helped out. Pity the clean mugs they supplied were dirtier than the ones they took away which meant another trip downstairs to exchange them. The bar staff washed them! It was a family room and I did report what I thought was a big H&S problem in the room (113) as one of the large opening windows had no stay so the window could not be fixed into position when open.
BAR AREA and ENTERTAIMNMENT; There was bingo or a local singer to entertain the guests each night. This usually finished by about 10.30/11.00pm. There is some seating overlooking the beach as the hotel is sited directly across the road from Shanklin Beach. It would have been nice to see some local beers in stock instead of the usual brands we can get back home. Trying local brews is part of the holiday experience. There is happy hour from 5 – 7 pm. but no set rule such as “buy one get one free” but a variety of offers on different drinks.
RESTAURANT; On arrival we were told our group couldn’t sit together but when we weren’t happy about that seating for the 6 of us was found. Breakfast is self-service for cereals, spreads, juice and hot drinks and some guests were finding difficulty with walking about with hot cups especially if they had mobility problems. Hot food orders are taken by the waiting staff and brought to your table along with toast. We found the service was quick and the Full English breakfast was very good. You are asked to select your choice of the 3 course evening meal whilst at breakfast; the aim being to cut down waste. Dishes are basic and most days we had a choice of a hot pudding plus tinned fruit and ice-cream in various forms. They appear to be running the hotel on a tight budget as on day three there was no fried bread with the cooked breakfast as due to a shortage of bread the hotel had opted to not fry bread so that toast could be offered to the guests. The following day there was no marmalade as stocks of that had run out.

The Shanklin Beach Hotel changed hands last year but definitely needs a cash injection to improve it amenities. It currently seems to survive on budget coach holidays but with its prime location it could become so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Arrived for a short break with my 92 year old mum. No body on reception to,greet us. When we were allocated our room it was up and down several stairs so they changed the room for us. The room was very tired with lumpy beds and I’ll fitting curtains. My main problem was considering the clientele were all over 60 there was nowhere quiet to sit. The bar had constant loud music playing and the whole place seemed to,be run by youngsters. The hotel generally was very run down and I would definitely not stay there again, I’m glad we were only there for three days.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews