We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and Compact.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage - from the rear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage - from the rear
The Cottage - from the front View from the Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The Cottage - from the rear
The Cottage - from the front
View from the Garden
The Lounge
Master Bedroom
The Kitchen
Local Art in the Hallway
Master Bedroom
The Lounge
Dining Area
Finishing Touches
Nearby Dittisham on the River Dart
Nearby Brixham, local fishing port
Totnes, nearby historic market town
Dartmouth Steam Train
Bigbury Beach and Burgh Island - our favourite
River Dart near Dartmouth
Broadsands, nearby Paignton
Dartmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Scotty577
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean and Compact.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a very nice stable conversion on the outside of Paignton. Clean and compact, light and airy - the main bedroom could do with a blind for the skylight and light deadening shades elsewhere. The 2nd bedroom has a "double" bunk lower and single bunk upper, just enough room to open the door and to reach the built in storage. Would not recommend it for 4/5 adults - more like 2 adults with young children. Amenities are close by with a reasonably nice pub 5 minutes walk.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alloted parking space.
Liked least: Could not sleep after sun came up, skylighti s above bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
Thank you for your recent review, and all your feedback - I'm very pleased you had an enjoyable stay. And yes, the property is as advertised and therefore most of our guests tend to be couples with or without children, who enjoy the facilities and location. Although we do have 4 adults on occasions who understand the property configuration. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RibenaD
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved our stay here. It has everything we needed for us and our 1 year old daughter. It was lovely and warm in every room and had plenty of space for us. We can't wait to stay here again. The owner was lovely and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful stay x

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I'm very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and the cottage and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinahB014...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Everything and more than we wanted. From booking to contact after the holiday has been courteous and caring. The cottage is well cared for, homely and well furnished and very clean. Well supplied and a lovely touch leaving us a welcome pack. Really need a car but the walks in this area a great. Would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It's always good to hear guests are pleased with the cottage and also that you enjoyed the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family, total of 5 and a dog, having stayed 4 nights we actually returned home early as we all did not wish to stay any longer. The accommodation size was not large enough for a comfortable stay. It would appear that the cottage had not been prepared for visitors as several parts of the cottage did not appear clean enough. This is the opinion of all 5 guests.
We would not return to for further stays. This was very disappointing and we can confirm having enjoyed far better conditions for a lot less money.
One of the residents was not friendly and his dog was far less friend as it attacked our dog unprovoked. The facilities did not suit our dog or dog walking. There was also cat excrement all in the front and back garden. Location poor as it was over looking a herd of cows which was not desirable.
This holiday was booked as an early birthday present but was not enjoyed as it should of been. The contact with the owner has been very poor, no reply to emails sent 3rd of September 2014 and no reaction to complaints made by me.
The complaints made by me reference lack of cleaning plus other points made have not been dealt with. Also the cottage did not have extra bedding as stated, only an unsafe pull out bed that again had not been cleaned. There are other points that were not up to standards. At least the owner should have contacted as promised my sister in America or myself, she has all email details plus my telephone numbers. My sister has not received her good will refund and she is still waiting for it.
Due to the situation and uncomfortable sleeping arrangements, I stayed with my wife at Collerton Lodge for 2 enjoyable nights. This was not a good experience and I would not recommend the cottage for future holidays.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access point
Liked least: Overall experience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueGuest1
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely break away”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely week at this cottage, could not fault the cottage or location, hope to return next year

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Thank you for your very positive review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.