We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
18
17
4
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
17
4
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night through late rooms.com and was charged £125 for our double room. We had a family emergency followed sadly by a death in the family and had to get to Liverpool in a hurry. Late rooms.com found us this hotel after I had tried for hours to get somewhere as near to Liverpool as possible. The landlady kindly offered to allow us late arrival (22.30) due to our predicament, and a free breakfast in the morning, but that is where the goodness stopped. The rooms are usually charged at around £54 to which we were not informed of by late rooms.com.
On way to our room the staircase was dirty the quality of the room was very poor. Skirting boards were dusty and dirty as were the walls. We had a large drainage pipe running through our toilet that made the most horrendous noise when other hotel users flushed their toilet, this kept us awake most of the night.
We had not long sat down to breakfast when we got a call to return to the hospital in Liverpool immediately, because if this we didn't have the chance to complain about the room or the price. I contacted laterooms.com but was offered no refund. Below are some of the pictures of our room
I will never use late rooms.com again and will not stay in this hotel again

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Stayed here for months with work. Value for money hotel, certainly worth the £30 a night! Comfy bed, clean bathroom with shower that works properly. Can't complain at all! The Rock Inn pub just down the road was worth visiting for a decent pint.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky_hardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thanks for your comments they are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We wanted a clean budget hotel. The room was spotless with tea coffee and a kettle for our convenience. The breakfast offered a selection of cereals, fruit juice, toast ,lots of jams and spreads and a selection of tea or coffee. For a bit extra you could have a cooked breakfast. There was also a list of speciality coffees at a little extra. The couple Nicky and Bob who run the hotel work hard to help you enjoy your stay and make you feel welcome. We had a quiet nights sleep as noise and drunks are not tolerated .We found the beds comfortable and bedding pure white. There was a television in our room also two lovely chairs and a desk. There is a secure car park at the back of the Hotel with cctv. This is a no frills Hotel it will not suit everybody especially if you need a lift as it is an old building When we come back to Wigan we will be booking in here again.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Jeanette2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. Guests comments are very important to us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Wigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel didn't seem that bad at first but what we didn't know was that there was a 1am curfew and wasn't told about it until we arrived, also I told the hotel we would arrive between 6&7, I received an email at 6.30 saying we have a 1am curfew, saying we are in one of the biggest party towns in England 1am is very poor!! The hotel said they would refund half - I paid £75 they refunded £27, the website does state a curfew but it's in the tiny print no one actually reads! It should be in the first line you read if they have such a problem with it !!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jadee402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for bringing our curfew time to the notice of other potential guests who may not have read our hotel policies, like you hadn't. Unfortunately, the booking agent displays all our information where they see fit. If it were up to us it would be in big bold letters at the top of our page as we do not want our guests being disturbed by 'party goers' coming in at all hours of the night/morning, that is why we have a curfew!
The fact that you had not read our policies was not our fault, but your negligence. However, as a goodwill gesture, we said that we would refund half of what you had paid less the booking agents fee and as you said, it was better than nothing, but you still felt the need to have a moan on tripadvisor for something that was your fault, not ours!
In future no refunds will be given when a guest has not read the hotel policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Having just spent a night in this hotel, it will definitely not be on my list to return! Shabby,dated, neglected, the only plus side was secure parking, just glad I had a few drinks to help me forget where I was!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hilary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

I presume you arrived almost an hour early for check in so that you could consume the two bottles of wine you brought with you before you went out and that you checked out right on the last minute to allow your hangover to subside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews