We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to eat!”
Review of Tia's

Tia's
Ranked #14 of 363 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Freshly prepared authentic Mexican cuisine including enchiladas, chimichangas, fajitas. Our menu also includes slow cooked ribs, handmade pizzas, fish, chicken and steak dishes. Food is cooked to order, so we can adjust our dishes to suit individual dietary requirements ie gluten free, vegan, dairy free etc. Please let us know any dietary requirements or allergens upon arrival. We have an extensive cocktail list as well as a wide selection of wines, beers, spirits and soft drinks.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

I love Tia's i go often and I have never had bad service or food.
The staff are lovely, the veggie choices are amazing and its such great value!

I forever crave their onion roses!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachael_tallentire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted and seated in a very friendly and welcoming manner. Within minutes this restaurant filled up and there wasn't a seat available!

The waitresses were very attentive and friendly. We had a small portion of nachos whilst we perused the menu. We ordered and it didn't take too long for food to arrive.

The food and drinks were very good once we find out what the happy hour included we ordered some drinks from the happy hour menu.

Would return was a great, vibrant and friendly restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank NikkiJ886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Popped in without a reservation, the staff were warm and welcoming and asked if we needed to see the gluten free menu options. There was an excellent selection of Mexican food, with vegan and separate gluten free menu. Both the starter and main course were huge and cooked to perfection. This is probably one of the best gluten free restaurants we have visited in the north east. Cant wait to return.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank comfortablynumbagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Staying overnight in Durham, this place was near to the Premier Inn and sounded nice. Booked a table and got 25% discount with Gourmet card. Very friendly and helpful both lady owner and waitress. The place was about half full on a Wednesday evening but felt busy with a good atmosphere. Food was perfectly pleasant, I had quesadillas to start and my wife prawn filo. Very good value house wine £14.95 for Chilean Merlot. Steak on skewers for main course. Not exceptional cooking but good value (plenty of mains around £12) and filling without being too big. Finished with a nice ice cream laced with rum and chocolate. Good, enjoyable evening and felt we had good value.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ChrisRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We visited early evening with our son and although we hadn't booked and the restraint was busy the staff were very friendly and attentive and made us feel at home. Food was delicious and we were brought ice-cold tap water without having to ask for any...altogether a great find..thank you!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alisongrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tia's also viewed

 

Been to Tia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing