We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect perfect perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Butterfly Cottage

Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
The Hillside Setting
view from the cottage balcony
kitchen
Dining table with complimentary wine, chocolates flowers on arrival
Wood burning stove
Downstairs mini vestibule
bathroom en suite
waterfall at Westgate
the neighbours!
Well bank
the Hamlet of Newhouse
the church at St Johns chapel
Chatterbox café in St Johns Chapel
Winter sunset at Burnhope reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lunnpolyd...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect perfect perfect”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Butterfly cottage is just perfect. Amazing views, great for a real away from it all break, however not so remote that it's inconvenient, we walked to the local village in 30 minutes where there were 2 pubs, a little shop and a tearoom.
The cottage is so comfortable and welcoming, you feel relaxed as soon as you arrive. Fresh bread, wine and chocolates waiting on arrival and candles lit made for a lovely welcome. Gorgeous kitchen and bathroom, and great wood burning stove that made it really cosy on an evening. Bed was lovely and comfortable and everything was spotless.
Can't rate highly enough, it's just one of those little gems that you're so glad you found. Thankyou so much to Anita and Bruce who have created such a lovely little place. We will absolutely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your break at Butterfly cottage and shall look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pcgh2016
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, comfortable and delightful”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Can't believe it is a week since we were at the Butterfly Cottage. The cottage itself is lovely; well laid out with marvellous views from the windows. I especially enjoyed my morning cuppa, with the top half of the door opened up, leaning out and taking in the fresh air accompanied by nothing more than the sounds of the birds singing, the leaves in the breeze and the occasional bleating of the lambs. Heaven! Provisions are well thought out and the added extras (fresh bread, butter in the fridge, wine, chocolates, fresh flowers and a scented candle) go that little bit further to make you feel that, yes .. I am on holiday and give a genuine sense of hospitality and welcome. And, I defy anyone to open that kitchen drawer and not find what they were looking for!! The bed was very comfortable with the bathroom next door, all clean and sparkling. Thank you Bruce for directions, welcoming us on the doorstep and showing us around and giving us the reassurance that any further help is on hand if needed. Phone (O2) and Internet access fine. We had a lovely break visiting Beamish museum and Bowes museum, walking and enjoying the views as well as chilling and relaxing and just letting the world go by. I am so glad we chose the Butterfly Cottage for our break ... perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views, the snuggliness of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
So pleased you had a perfect break at Butterfly cottage and that we made you feel welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattCav
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cottage, great stay and highly recommended”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fantastic 3 night stay in what is an outstandingly beautiful area and fantastic cottage. The cottage is very well laid out and brilliantly decorated. The kitchen is well equipped and functional. All furniture is excellent and extremely comfortable. Particularly good is the bed which is large, soft and has a wonderful duvet. The layout of the cottage is excellent with the living area upstairs, the bedroom and bathroom feels nice to retire to downstairs in the evening. Views from all the windows are great even on a more dull day. Thoroughly recommend if you are visiting anywhere near the area. We used it as a base to visit Durham and also waterfalls at High and Low Force. The area is well served by roads and the drive is an enjoyable experience in itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior decoration and views
Liked least: Personal preference would have been for a full shower but the facilities provided were very good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

5th time in this wonderful cottage. Stayed for the weekend of our 40th wedding anniversary and were delighted to have lots of snow. As always, the cottage is perfect with the most amazing bedding, such a comfortable sleep - didn't want to get up!
Anita and Bruce are so welcoming and all the lovely little extras they provide are much appreciated. We especially love the home-made bread.
A most peaceful and relaxing hide-away and the most perfect holiday-let we have ever been in.
Cant recommend this highly enough. We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Dear Rosemary, Thank you for your glowing review, you are very kind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiwd
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The 2 of us stayed here for a couple of nights, wish it could have been longer. It was our 2nd visit & it certainly won't be our last. Welcomed with chocolates, wine, fresh baked delicious bread & biscuits for our little dogs. Alpaca wool duvet is tremendous. The cottage is absolutely beautiful with spectacular views. If it's peace & tranquility you're after then this ticks all the boxes. We love it. Thank you Anita & Bruce for creating a little piece of paradise.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you liked the new Alpaca bedding a recent purchase for the cottage, not a cheap option but we think it is important that the bed is comfortable for people, as a good nights sleep is important when guests are trying to unwind and relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing