We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Every detail thought of”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
107 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

loubear85
Padstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Every detail thought of”
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We booked the Moonlight Apartments for the weekend to attend a wedding. I was very happy with the efficiency of the owner in giving directions and meeting us at the apartment. On our arrival we found that not only was the apartment beautifully decorated but also everything was thought of from providing basic ingredients for our first breakfast to leaving a bottle of wine in the fridge for our stay. In addition the apartment couldn't be closer to the city centre and was very quiet due to the secondary glazing.
We will definitely use this company again on our return to Durham.

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADALOV...
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try it - you will love it”
Reviewed 1 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Moonlight apartments for one night Jan 21st 2012 - A xmas box form our son and his fiancee -Warm welcome from Ray - Lovely apartment - nice touches - wine,chocs ect - very welcome - it is home from home and so nice we did not even go out in the evening preferring to enjoy our surroundings. A little noisy but would not put us of going back to this very unique place in a great location -we hope to be back soon - thankyou ray.-

Date of stay: January 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DadTravel...
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Outstanding location”
Reviewed 28 December 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I can recommend Moonlight apartments, with some small caveats. If you are prepared to deal with some quirks, and the fact it is on a main street, it is a good place to stay on your visit to Durham.

Is the location good?
Yes. Brilliant. It is a really short walk into town, including to the cathedral and anywhere you want to go. Further, with secure parking, it is very easy to get in and out of town from where the apartment is located.

What is the apartment like?
I say quirky, others would say modern. It is one of those places that is very much setup for a couple – though we stayed with kids and it was fine for that. The furniture was nice. The kitchen was setup well (though could do with some more practical crockery), and clearly well setup for a party! I loved the light and the way that the windows all opened for air. The upstairs loft room where the kids stayed was good though be warned: the stairs up are narrow and steep!

But are the beds comfortable?
Well, not great, but not bad either. The main issue is the noise from the street, in particular the police sirens from the police station up the street. Bring ear plugs and you’ll be fine.

Was there Wifi?
Yes.

Was it Quiet?
No. This is on a main street. Be prepared and you won’t have any issues.

Were the appliances ok?
Fine. The dishwasher is small, and like a lot in England the combined washer/dryer s-l-o-w. Overall everything functional.

Anything special?
Ray is a nice host – happy to meet, happy to fix stuff and help.

Date of stay: September 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ynottrave...
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“If available, don't think twice”
Reviewed 16 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Ray Broadbridge has created an oasis in the Durham. Location is fabulous, opposite the Marriott. Parking available. On the edge of the pedestrianised walk way to the Marketplace and Cathedral.
Contemporary decor. Huge windows which give the view of the high street.
A start up kit is provided which really helps, unlike a number of UK serviced apartments I have stayed in.
Ray is available on phone, in case we run into trouble, which I did, as I could not figure out how to run the dishwasher.
Be careful to always display your parking permit in the basement parking. We got a ticket, imagine - in a private parking area, as I forgot to dislpay the ticket.
Bathroom is luxurious, with a shower panel and a Victorian tub.
The bed in the master bedroom is quite small, and it gave my husband a chance to snuggle up and sleep with me. So we are not complaining.
A spiral staircase leads to the 2nd bedroom which can actually sleep 3 more persons.
Kitchen is really nice and compact.
Convenience store are close by, very easily walkable.
I would not stay anywhere else, if Moonlight was available.

My only advice the Ray: Please provide refills of toiletries, bulbs and tissues as some of us just done carry them.

Date of stay: October 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2011
Thank you so much for the brilliant review. It's a bit of a dielemma for us knowing how great a supply of toiletries, etc, to leave - but we will certainly increase this for longer stays such as yours. And I'll replenish the stock of lightbulbs, of course. Parking - the firm who now control our car park are simply too enthusiastic, I'm afraid, so we just have to help our guests to be vigilant.
Best regards
Ray Broadbridge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carra2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice apartment in convenient location”
Reviewed 9 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

A very nice apartment in the centre of Durham. Everything you needed was there and nice touch of croissants and wine provided.

Date of stay: August 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.