We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is about as good as it gets for vacation...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Riverside location
Decking area overlooking the River Wear and Elvet Bridge
Master Bedroom with hairdryer
Master bedroom en-suite bathroom
Double bedroom with seperate bathroom
Large flat screen TV and DVD player
Bath and shower facilities
Main bathroom
Internal lift from FREE secure underground car park
Free unlimited WIFI
Nespresso coffee machine with complimentary pods
External intercom system to allow remote access to visitors
Eco radiators in each room
Durham Cathedral
Durham Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
pacifika2...
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is about as good as it gets for vacation rentals”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very pleasant, modern and well appointed two bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, two-floor apartment, about 200 m from Elvet Bridge, with a balcony looking straight down onto the River Wear and less than five minutes walk from the Durham Market Square. In addition to a full kitchen, dishwasher and combined clothes washer/dryer, there are a lot of thoughtful extras like an espresso machine, and a welcome basket of local goodies. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms include lovely soaps and shampoo. This is about as good as it gets for vacation rentals (we were there for a week); and is strongly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone and are so pleased that we met your high standards.
Kind regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb location, spotless flat”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Superb location on the river right in Durham City.
Friendly host on arrival. Great safe private parking in the underground car park. Splendid arrival pack - I won't spoil the treats.
Entire place spotlessly clean, very well appointed. Comfortable beds.
I couldn't recommend this place enough. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Durham.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Hi Jonathan,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words which we appreciate so much. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seb024
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for exploring Durham City World Heritage Site and surroundings.”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked a three night stay in the apartment.

The accommodation was exceptional. Clean, spacious, comfortable , warm and we'll equipped. There were generous supplies of tea ,sugar, coffee milk and orange juice, as well as a welcome basket of wine, high quality biscuits, nuts an crisps. There were plentiful supplies of toiletries and fluffy towels.

The apartment was in a very central but peaceful location and convenient for exploring Durham without using any form of transport.

Unfortunately the weather did not allow us to use the terrace overlooking the river but the view and privacy the terrace gave us was very much appreciated.

Chris and Wendy were so, understanding and accommodating when we had made an error in our booking times, turning a crisis into a mishap by extending our stay, without our asking.

Words are inadequate to express our thanks and relief at being able to stay on and enjoy an outing to The Botanic Gardens and further explore the city before heading north.

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was no one thing it was just a complete luxury package
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“First class”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absolutely lovely apartment fantastic location on the river, beyond expectations. Loved sitting out on the decking watching the boats go by. Although it was in the centre of Durham you wouldn't think so as it seemed so peaceful and quiet. Everything you needed was there, Chris who greeted me on arrival was lovely and showed me round the apartment. I would highly recommend this apartment. I enjoyed it so much that I have booked another 3 night stay.
,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the river and the view.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned from a four night break at this fabulous apartment. Beautifully furnished and fantastic view over the River. So close to the City but really peaceful, never heard a sound any night. Would recommend to anyone looking for a break in Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over the River and the tranquillity
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing