We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage in a wonderful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful dining room with traditional farmhouse table Traditional beams and inglenook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Beautiful dining room with traditional farmhouse table
Traditional beams and inglenook
Large master bedroom with Kingsize bed with dual windows overlooking the beautiful countryside
Double bedroom
Nautical themed twin room
Perfect south facing garden for dining outside
Patio area
Enjoy glorious views of the countryside
Sunken garden
Family bathroom with roll top bath
Split level livingroom with a feature fire place and french doors to the patio and garden
A snapshot of things to do
Guest book review
Guest book review
Westward Ho beach & Golf course
Crow point beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fran n
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very special cottage! Well-equipped, beautiful enclosed garden, easy access to surrounding countryside and coast. Dog friendly.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemma H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends were looking for a relaxing trip away from the city and we certainly found that at the Thatched Cottage. The cottage is gorgeous and superbly decorated with all you could wish for a comfortable stay.
The cottage made a great base to get out and explore the local area and we enjoyed lots of nice walks and trips to the beach. One night we stayed in and enjoyed a home cooked meal in the lovely dining area.
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in a beautiful part of the country I can't recommend this place highly enough.

I will definitely be back x

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky G
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic 'chocolate box' thatched cottage from the outside but inside all the chocolates have been eaten!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From the outside the cottage is picture postcard and the garden has some lovely mature shrubs but the grass needed cutting so potentially could've looked neater. Location is convenient for the Atlantic Highway but the nearest beach is approx 20 minutes drive. Parking isn't great as it's down a lane and there is no space to load or unload the car outside of the cottage.
The dining room is quite dark but nicely decorated but the kitchen is quite grim and a bit smelly from the old extractor fan, although well equipped. The cottage wasn't as clean as expected for a holiday let which was disappointing as we were supposedly the 1st customers to reside there.
The owners had arranged for builders, a Risk Manager and various others to meet them on the day of our departure at 10am, and unfortunately a couple of them arrived early, so it was bedlam as we attempted to pack our car and leave.
We have stayed in numerous holiday rentals around Devon over the years and we feel that overall we paid a premium rate for a below premium accommodation. Very disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. All feedback we have received from our guests both on Trip Advisor and in our guest book (please see photos section) has been nothing but positive so we are of course disappointed and concerned to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do appreciate that everyone has different tastes, wants and needs and always try to accommodate these. We would therefore like to take the opportunity to comment on some of your feedback in order to provide a balanced view.

The garden is indeed absolutely beautiful, however, due to an extremely hot summer and a fully south facing garden the grass has grown at a very fast rate despite being cut on a weekly basis by our gardener.

Although the house is very accessible to the beach it is not advertised as a being next to the beach. The beach is around 20 minutes drive and is indicated on our location map. Many of our other guests have commented our ideal location; in the peaceful countryside, close to town amenities and within driving distance to the beach.

The cottage was built in 1650, a time when there were no cars on the roads and therefore does not have a space right outside the front door as many modern builds do. Therefore a garage and car parking space has been added as an addition to the back of the property. If you do have items to upload from your car it is possible to park (as we do) opposite the front of the property.

The dining room (please see photos) is as expected for a quaint cottage built in the 17th century; ceiling beams, wooden floors, inglenook fire place and cottage windows which all provide a cosy cottage atmosphere. There are two lights in the room which provide ample lighting.

During the hours of 10am and 3pm on our changeover day is when we carry out all cleaning and maintenance for our next guests. Both my husband I were there on this day and can confirm that they arrived after 10am.

The property has been valued by a number of local holiday letting agents to ensure that we are being competitive in the market place. Of course price is something that is very subjective; comparing the same size modern property in a seaside location alongside a Thatched property in the countryside is impossible and really depends on what you want from your holiday.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Jilly & Ian Rawle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$154
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing