We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing takeaway!”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #7 of 144 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: built in 1887 the castle inn has all the enchantment of a building of its time with it its large beer garden, separate dining room, and inviting bar, the castle inn will offer you a place to relax, unwind & enjoy the beautiful surroundings that North Devon has.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Had an amazing takeaway for my brothers 18th birthday. Looking forward to my candy floss from the film box

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank thedevilchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2021

If you haven’t had the pleasure of experiencing this beautiful village pub you really must!
Where to start.. Friendly, welcoming, spotlessly clean and the food it out of this world especially their Sunday lunches.

Sharon and Creighton always go above and beyond and their customer service is outstanding! Nothing is too much trouble and if you have kids they always take the time to make sure they are happy and have enjoyed their meals. Even the fussiest of eaters won’t be disappointed.

I love the fact that either Sharon or Creighton always no matter how many times you have eaten here will always personally check everything was okay with your experience and with your meal too. Of course as always, the food is amazing! You must try the deserts too.

The food is always very good value for money and if you like your food served fresh, hot on a plate and not sat underneath a self serving trolley this is the place to go. They cater for all, GF, Vegetarian just ask!

Even with these challenging times and Covid restrictions, this has not effected the quality and experience this gorgeous little village pub strives to give to all it customers.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 939kaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020 via mobile

We was pleasantly surprised, Probably the best roast around town! Couldn’t fault it, The beef melted in the mouth

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank kaynep69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Well just left and got to say really poor service, not much to choose from on menu left waiting ,hardly rushed off their feet ,look after your customers as they pay your wages... poor

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

Just this second left.
I never usually leave reviews but thought this place warrants one.

Very friendly staff that took the time to make conversation with my family.

Food was beautiful home cooked food and the service was superb.

Whenever i am in the area again I will 100% return.

Once again thank you

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank johntF1406QO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
Bishop's Tawton, Barnstaple
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.