We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous deserts ”
Review of Choccobar

Choccobar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
Description: ChoccoBar is an independent, contemporary coffee shop & hot chocolate house offering all the usual coffee shop refinements with a few light bites, great cakes & gorgeous waffles. The similarity stops there! As you may realise from the name, ChoccoBar specialises in REAL Hot Chocolate but with a twist. Our chocolate is made continental style, thick & Indulgent. We use a blend of real Belgian chocolate without the use of any powders so its good all the way to the bottom. The 'twist' is that we also offer a wide range of flavour essences to add a unique dimension to your drinking experience. 'Chocolate to talk about' To find us: we're in the middle of Quarry Rigg Shopping Centre, just off Lake Road, Bowness. The neares public car park is by the cinema LA23 3BJ 40m away from us or on street parking.
Restaurant details
Description: ChoccoBar is an independent, contemporary coffee shop & hot chocolate house offering all the usual coffee shop refinements with a few light bites, great cakes & gorgeous waffles. The similarity stops there! As you may realise from the name, ChoccoBar specialises in REAL Hot Chocolate but with a twist. Our chocolate is made continental style, thick & Indulgent. We use a blend of real Belgian chocolate without the use of any powders so its good all the way to the bottom. The 'twist' is that we also offer a wide range of flavour essences to add a unique dimension to your drinking experience. 'Chocolate to talk about' To find us: we're in the middle of Quarry Rigg Shopping Centre, just off Lake Road, Bowness. The neares public car park is by the cinema LA23 3BJ 40m away from us or on street parking.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We happened to walk past and decided to pop in and we were very happy we did!.The waffle was mine and was gorgeous!, the sticky toffee my other half’s and she said it’s the best she’s ever had!! (And she’s had a few) Top quality and we will be calling next time we’re in Bowness-on-Windermere

1  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments Malcolm. We’re glad you tried us out. Never one to argue with a lady we’ll accept her comments proudly
Keep spreading the word & look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We came here over 2 year ago for the first time and decided to visit again today, must say it's still a lovely place. The waffles are really good so was the carrot cake.

1  Thank SuzieLouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments & glad to read you found us just as enjoyable as your first visit, 2nd time round.
We do hope we get to see you again next time your in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We tried three times to visit this place, once it was shut , second it had a power failure and at last third time lucky. We had the double-stack waffle lemon meringue for bottom and cherry for top, very tasty indeed worth the wait

1  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Glad you managed to call in & your persistence paid off, managing to build your overload waffle to your liking. There are many variations you could create & we think the cherries with lemon combination is a first. Lots of smiles!

We’re always closed on a Tuesday as mentioned in our published hours but you’re not the first to ‘we forgot’.
Sorry about the power. The whole block was off for about 15 minutes.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you find yourselves in Bowness. Keep spreading the word in the interim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

I've recently visited the Choccobar with my wife and wow, what a lovely place!

The food we both had (paninis) and also the various different milkshakes were very tasty indeed.

Also note worthy is that all of the staff here were incredibly friendly and helpful.

We're planning to return here again soon and I'm hoping to try a traditional hot chocolate from them.

1  Thank Bitzerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your terrific comments & we’ll be sure to pass on your praise to the team.

To say “what a lovely place!” With a “wow” too makes us smile. We have tried to maintain and improve on what we’ve been doing so it’s great to read these lovely comments.
Looking forward to seeing you both again in th future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place to warm yourself up on a chilly day in Bowness with a smooth silky hot chocolate like you e never tasted before and try an extra bit of flavour with there fantastic choices, can’t decide which one Marc and his lovely wife and team will let you try the flavours first well as we move into the waffles they are amazing have one for yourself or split it between 2 of you. My friend and I go quite often we split a panini and a waffle so we can enjoy both but still go away full and very satisfied . You can’t go to Bowness unless you go chocco bar xxx

1  Thank Doily2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

It’s always lovely to see regular faces coming back to us & we’d hope you’d agree that the excellent service we offer has been the same from the very first time you came to the last time. Sharing our delightful indulgences can be the best way as you mention. Everyone gets to sample the range then.
Thank you for your loyal custom & for taking the time to pop a review on here for others to read. We know you spread the ChoccoBar word & we’re always greatful. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choccobar also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Choccobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing