We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
378
160
85
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
378
160
85
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed complimentary sherry family room cumbrian breakfast lake district flights of stairs on arrival a lovely stay lovely room top floor couldn't do enough mini break breakfast was delicious full english car park warm welcome feel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Always made to feel welcome at this great hotel, special mention for Andrew, Pawel and the lovely Sue...also all other members of the team who provide an excellent service. We love the Lakes and knowing that there is a team of genuine staff, who are not just paying lip service to customer service makes our trips so much more comfortable. The breakfast is first class and the hotel is clean, tidy and has a really welcoming , relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this accommodation, booked for a few days over the festive season. Thanks for making our trips so worthwhile as we escape to our favourite destination anywhere in the UK or abroad..you just cannot beat the Lake District.

Room Tip: Ask if a Lake view available
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paulmason120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Our honeymoon was perfect with a perfect room and a perfect view.

The staff are very pleasant and welcoming to everyone, we need a special mention to member of staff Sue, who was on hand and so friendly with myself, my new wife and even our two dogs.

An excellent hotel and we will be back - HIGHLY recommended. Perfect.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon room which had an exceptional view.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wiganstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

A nice hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is a few minutes walk to the village/shops in either direction (the town is a little further walk).
The ‘family room’ we were in was very small, was only just big enough for two of us, however it worked well as a base for us.

Breakfast was really nice, and the staff went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable and had space to feed the baby.

I would recommend this place however if you want space then it might not be the best place to stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Gingersweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Last minute decision. Booked at 11.30 am and we were warmly greeted at 2.30 .
All the staff / reception/ bar / waiters were friendly and efficient. Room was spacious with a very comfortable 4poster bed .
There are 3 parking spaces at the front of the hotel and about 6 at the rear . Fabulous location. Gorgeous breakfast with good quality sausage and bacon . Eggs cooked and served to your liking. All items freshly cooked and non greasy . Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChorleyWiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent choice for staying in Bownes. Decorated to a high standard, clean and welcoming. We had breakfast included and it was fantastic. Cooked to order and waiter service. The best Cumberland sausage I've ever tasted. The staff are really attentive and friendly. Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chorleycake52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews