We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
81
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull english breakfastlovely couplerestaurants pubsgreat hostsin easy walking distanceprivate parkingwould definitely stay here againgrilled tomatoset us up for the daytea and coffeeclose to shopspiping hotmini fridgebed and breakfastfive minute walktwo night staystayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Lovely liitle guest house. Room on the small side for a double. Other than that very good.Whole place very clean. Very friendly hosts.Great breakfast.Ideally placed for a stroll into the local town. No off road parking but was able to find free parking in local street. Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This cosy bed and breakfast suited our requirements entirely. Everywhere was exceedingly clean and warm. The new owners are succeeding in updating all the facilities and we wish them well with their endeavours.Full Cumbrian Breakfast was well cooked and attractively presented. The hotel is well placed for restaurants and all Bowness has to offer. Parking has to be found in the streets but this is never a problem.
We ourselves are bed and breakfast owners in the Peak District and know what we are talking about!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moorlandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

we stayed here as a family of 3 and found it one of the best b&b's we have stayed at in Bowness and most defernetly will be returning! the owners have only recently taken over the cottage and have made it ever so nice. it looks fresh, spotless clean and cosy and the breakfast is fabulous. it beats any breakfast i have had in some of the most expensive hotels in the lakes! the rooms were fully equiped with what we needed and nothing was to much trouble if we asked. Julie and Russ the owners made our stay very comfortable and we look forward to our next break at new year!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We arrived at the beautiful guest house Melbourne in Bowness. We were met by Julie who just recently taken over ownership of the guest house. She showed us to our room and it was lovely and cosy. Sparkling white clean bedding and towels. We had a wonderful breakfast next morning. I was surprised to know that she was just a few months doing this work. She was a natural and charming host. Short walk to the center of the town.Our stay was very comfortable and we look forward to booking again next year.

Room Tip: Its a quaint cottage guest house so it includes stairs to the rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Would highly recommend. Brilliant breakfast and less than a five minute walk to Bowness centre/the lake. Lovely room, Howard and Jane were great hosts also. The guest house was clean and tidy, well looked after.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Braadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews