We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic weekend!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of High Biggin

High Biggin a 5 Star Gold Award winning luxury holiday cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Biggin a 5 Star Gold Award winning luxury holiday cottage
The terrace The view from the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
High Biggin a 5 Star Gold Award winning luxury holiday cottage
The terrace
The view from the terrace
The drive to the cottage
The 8 person Hot Tub
View from Master Bedroom Terrace
Entrance Hall
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
The Larder
The Utility Room
The Kitchen & Sun Room
The Sun Room
The view from the Sun Room
The Sun Room
The Dining Room
The Dining Room
The Lounge
The baby grand piano in the Lounge
The Lounge
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The entrance to the Master Bedroom
The Dressing Room of the Master Bedroom
The Dressing Room of the Master Bedroom
The Master Ensuite
Gilchrist & Soames Toiletries
The Master Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 (door to balcony)
View from bedroom 2's balcony
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Bathroom
Guests of High Biggin get free access to the Lakeview Spa at the Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
The view from the Lavender scented garden
The Outside Vitality Spa pool with stunning views
Dive into the refreshing blue waters
The view from the Himalayan Sauna
The view from the Steam room
Chill out in the Sauna & Steam rooms
The Lakeview Spa
First Floor Plan
Ground Floor Plan
Aerial Shot of Bowness on Windermere
Bowness Pier on Windermere
Hill Top Farm, home to Beatrix Potter
Dove Cottage, Grasmere where Wordsworth wrote some of his greatest works
Rydal Mount, the historic home of William Wordsworth
Blackwell Arts & Crafts House its beautiful and a must see while your here.
Internal Photo of Blackwell Arts & Crafts House
The World of Beatrix Potter great for the kids
Lakes Aquarium great to take the kids to
Windermere Lake Cruises perfect for getting a different perspective
Lakeland Motor Museum, a must for any car/bike enthusiast
Fell Foot Park super for picnics
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NicolaChi...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another fantastic weekend!”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the cottage 2 years ago with friends for a 40th Birthday celebration. I loved it so much I booked again with a couple of the same friends and some others that after seeing our photo's from the first visit really wanted to come along.

Check in at the hotel is easy, few instructions and we were on our way. The only slight negative I could say is that on Sunday we noticed a man pull up outside the cottage and go round the back - after investigation it was the hot tub maintaince guy who apparently goes every day! Being told this on check in would be nice so we aren't wondering why some random man is roaming around!! (if it was towards the bottome of the extensive 'hot tub rules' waiver then I'm sure most people like me lost the will to live half way through and just signed it so having it highlighted would be better!!).

The welcome pack was lovely again: 2 loaves of bread, milk, orange, butter, red & white wine, biscuits, kendal mint cake, tea/coffee.... I think that was everything!

The kitchen is really well equipped and everything in full working order. There is new seating in the kitchen lounge area - I notice in a previous review there were complaints about the old furniture. The old was much comfier than the new! hopefully it'll get worn in and saggy soon lol

The dining room is lovely and plenty of room for 8 to have a meal.

We really like spending the evenings in the living room together watching DVDs. We only put the fire on 1 night as we were only provided with 1 brick to get the fire started, perhaps one for each night booked should be provided? Not sure why a previous reviewer complained about the heat from the fire, we found it got too hot and had to open a window. Also, we only noticed on our last day but there are lots of DVDs in the cupboard to the left of the fire.

The bedrooms are all nicely decorated and a good size - the master bedroom is ridiculous! massive bed, sofa's, dressing room, jacuzzi bath, TV, radio and a private garden. One bedroom has a balcony. All have double/kingsize beds and one can be converted into twins on request.

When staying at the cottage you get free access to the spa at the hotel. It is open 9am-9pm. The changing rooms are small (3 cubicles and 8 lockers) and you need a pound coin for the lockers, towels are provided - we took along the robes and slippers provided at the cottage. We were lucky and no one else was in when we went on Saturday morning. The pool was a good size for a hotel and there was a steam room, sauna and outside hot tub with seating. As the weather was freezing cold the hot tub could have been a bit hotter, but it was ok. The views are stunning. They also do treatments in the spa, ask when you check in if there are any offers on as they had a couple of deals on massages that some of my group took up.

There is also Wi-Fi which worked great during our stay, at times possibly being used by all 8 of us at once!

The cottage is walking distance to Bowness, a 15 minute stroll - although be warned it is up a hill, which makes for amazing views but hard work for the less fit of us!!

We are now planning our return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and how well equipped it is
Liked least: the hill to get to the cottage!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahewar...
York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, but needs some improvements..........”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at High Biggin last week with a large family group (6 adults, 1 toddler, 2 babies). The house is big and beautiful and we had a fantastic time, but desperately needs some improvements carrying out. The three piece suite in the sun room has completely had it. The bottom has completely fallen out of the two seat sofa, so much so that you can't sit on it, and one of the armchairs is only marginally in a better state. The legs of the footstool also look like a dog has chewed them!! This was really disappointing as we spent most of our time sat on the floor. Not good enough when you have booked somewhere described as luxury accommodation. The three piece suite in the front room has also seen better days. Looks tired and old and is a bit smelly, but at least you can sit on this one. Some money also needs spending on kitchen utensils. The frying pans all need replacing as the non stick coating has worn out making them unusable. The inside of the windows look like they have not been cleaned in a very long time, so a really good deep clean would also be an improvement. The wood burning fire in the front room is completely useless and just for show. It throws out no heat whatsoever!! Finally, the curtains in the master bedroom need rehanging as they falling off the curtain track. If these improvements were made I would rate the house as excellent and recommend it to others. They desperately need carrying out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of house
Liked least: Nowhere comfortable to sit and relax
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for the feedback we will definitely address the points you have raised regarding improvements as soon as possible.
Kind regards
Fraser Richardson
Managing Director
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diabolical Customer Service”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So we chose this property for its location, size and most importantly because it was advertised as a 'property with a hot tub'. A group of us went for a long weekend for my mother's 65th birthday as she wanted to experience the hot tub for the first time, and were immediately disappointed by the fact that it wasn't working. We rang the hotel, who the property was managed by, who said they would send someone the next day to fix. We were then told it would be the day after. The next day we were told that it would be unavailable for the rest of the stay, i.e. 1 more day, but we could if we wanted to use the hotels hot tub, but that was only for 4 people and it was 3 miles away. Im not sure the area would be ready for us all out for an afternoon walk in the dressing gowns! but I digress....

Fair enough the hot tub was broken, but if they had told us on checkin there were more properties in the area we could have changed our booking, and made alternate arrangements, instead of leading us on.

There is a 4 hour window between check out and checkin so surely this would be one thing that is checked / cleaned between stays, whereby they would have surely noticed it was cold?? Apparently not.

Anyway having complained upon leaving the property, it has taken till today to get a final response (2 months later and after about 6 emails, and still no response from the actual landlord) from the hotel staff. Basically they offered us £150 of a FUTURE Stay, or a free night for 2 people in the hotel.

This is not the kind of experience you would expect when paying over £1000 for a weekend for the family.

I would NOT stay at any property owned / managed by this chain.

I book this type of weekend all the time and have never had an experience like this. If everything goes to plan then i'm sure this review would have been different but you can always judge somewhere by how they react when the service they provide goes a little awry. Well based on that, this was a terrible experience, and thus been rated as such

Chris

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
It is clear to us that this gentleman was looking for a full refund of his stay when in fact they came and used the house for the weekend. Yes the hot tub broke during there stay, and the part to fix it was not one we keep as spare for just these occasions so regrettably the part had to be ordered and as such the hot tub was out of action for the duration of this customers stay.

As a result we offered £150 discount of a future stay or a free night for 2 in the Beech Hill Hotel & Spa. You will have to judge for yourselves whether you think that is fair or not.

And one final point this gentleman kept all his correspondence with the hotel and he did not contact the landlord about this issue and as a result he did not get a response from the landlord. If he had contacted me he would have got a response and it would have been identical to the hotels response.

Paul Richardson
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ec2358
Dobcross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for wedding celebrations and pre Honeymoon with family and Friends.”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We got married last Sunday and stayed at High Biggin from Saturday 25th for one week as part of our pre wedding party and honeymoon. What an amazing week we have just had. The weather has been mixed but staying in this property has provided us with a fantastic week. We choose to stay here because of the amazing views you get from the property. We have enjoyed sitting in the kitchen and outside looking onto the lake. The cottage is massive and all the rooms are huge which gives everyone enough space to do their own thing. We have really enjoyed cooking on the aga which cooks food perfectly. The house is equipped with everything you needs such as towels, bath robes, toiletries, welcome hamper with milk and orange juice. We have enjoyed sitting in the hottub at the end of an evening watching all the wildlife in the garden. We have had deers and rabbits visiting the gardens.
Getting ready the morning of our wedding with my bridesmaids and mum was perfect, we can't wait to see the pictures from this beautiful house.
We definitely want to come back and stay at high Biggin as its always going to be a special place for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen, hottub and the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthiewil...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stumbled across High Biggin totally by accident and booked for 4 nights in May. We travelled as 2 families - 4 adults and 3 children in total.
We were thrilled upon our arrival to find the basket of provisions, a really thoughtful and handy touch!
The whole house was lovely and clean and well presented. The bedrooms in particular were larger than we anticipated and made for a really comfortable stay. The utility and pantry were also excellent and really useful ..... The additional fridge freezer a real bonus.
The house was central for everything we planned to do and close enough to pop into Bowness for a few provisions.

A really lovely stay, we didn't want to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$337
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing