We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accommodation”
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Overlooking the stream
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Overlooking the stream
Outside living
Lounge, kitchen, utility room
Lounge/kitchen/utility room
Dining area
Master bedroom with flat screen TV and ensuite with freestanding bath
Master bedroom/ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with freestanding bath
Ensuite bathroom
second double bedroom with ample storage
Third bedroom with small double bed
Leisure Suite with heated pool, hydro-spa, sauna, steam room - complimentary use
Pool with lifeguard present
Games Room
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
MARINA AT WHITECROSS BAY
Double room
Creche
Master bedroom with ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The lodge was a wonderful place for our short trip to the Lake District. Our entire group agreed that it was very clean, cosy and welcoming. The complimentary bottle of wine was a very nice added touch too. All in all, we would definitely recommend the twa dogs lodge to friends and consider staying here again ourselves in future.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Many thanks for reviewing our lodge, glad you had a great short break and hopefully you can stay longer next time. These reviews are really appreciated and invaluable to others deciding on accommodation in the Lake District!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sladej1
1 review
“Incredible”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I'm usually quite cautious of booking things online, but after reading the reviews I couldn't wait to arrive! Booking was simple, quick and all explained. The cabin was spotless, had everything we needed there (including bread, milk and orange juice) and the views were beautiful (minus the rain!) The whole lodge was beautifully decorated and exactly as described on both the website and by previous reviews. The birthday balloon and wine on arrival was a lovely touch and we would not hesitate to return, hopefully when the weather is a little better! Our dog loved the area, in particular Wray Castle. There are lovely walks around the grounds and they even do a 'bring your own dog' sled lesson (unfortunately they were booked up during our stay).
Thank you very much for a wonderful holiday, we hope to be returning in the near future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our lodge! It was our pleasure to have you for your birthday and hopefully we will see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Many thanks for wonderful review. So glad you had an amazing holiday and would love to welcome you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lodge. We are really glad you had a fantastic and hopefully you will be able to stay with us longer next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tricia370...
York, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were impressed by the lodge, which was immaculate and well-equipped. I had searched for a dog-friendly place to stay and the lodge and White Cross Bay Resort were just the job! Margaret seemed to have anticipated our every wish (the wine and dog treats were a particularly nice touch) and was very helpful and friendly in all communications.

As a base for exploring the spectacular countryside it was ideal. On day one we sailed on Lake Windermere from Ambleside down to Lakeside, where we visited the motor museum. Our retriever was welcomed everywhere we went! We spent the next 2 days driving around ; Wryenose and Honniston Passes were something to experience and the beautiful weather helped - especially when we went to a country show at Borrowdale and lunched outdoors at Buttermere.

Definitely recommended! We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay and would come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ease and friendliness of the whole transaction
Liked least: My husband found the low chairs and beds a problem and we found the cooker a little bit of a challenge to operate but got there!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!! Yes, Whitecross Bay and surrounding area are dog heaven and as a dog owner I understand that if you can take your dog on holiday with you everyone is happy. Would be great to see you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing