We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 398)
Filter reviews
1 398 results
Traveller rating
288
405
289
188
228
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
405
289
188
228
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and jacuzzi wowcher deal bit dated breakfast was buffet style lick of paint new owners course meal weekend break view of the lake leisure facilities tea and coffee couldn't do enough full english lakes
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1 398 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile


➖ so we’re do I start ??? We had no heating, no hot water for the time we were there, a apart from the first day, the shower sounded like they had airlock in there, the as the noise was awful!! We only got water the morning we left, we had to use the swimming room showers to have a proper wash, we booked through booking .com for bed breakfast and evening meal, we were not told that we were limited to £23.00 each night, so if you went over this you had to pay extra, the front of the hotel is lovely, then the rooms spoilt the illusion of the whole place, when we complained about the heating we were told that the boiler was working!! And wanted us to be ok with this, the room was freezing cold, after another hour we rang back down to the reception to tell them that we are cold, they came up with a small heater for us, no apology, we asked them about the water and looked at us as we were soft !! Then to be told by the waiter all the water went off, the reception staff never told us!! We opened our curtains to find scaffolding as our view, you can hear everyone walking around as the whole place creaking like mad !! I will never normally complain but when this is your honeymoon and we were looking forward to spending three days away at the beautiful lakes, then came as a complete disappointment to us, also it cost £
Us £450 for three days, my only wish is that I had taken photos we will never return to this hotel again

➕ When we checked out

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank brack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear brack

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry that you did not the stay.

I am sorry that there were some issues with your stay and that the team were not more helpful. We have taken your comments on board and are working with the team to ensure we communicate more effectively.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

A bank holiday family trip, my mother travelled to meet family there with my partner and I. Both rooms booked together,at the same time, same price. Her room was large and airy, clean and modern, ours was, well, damp, old fashioned, pokey, dusty, spiders and their webs on lights and ceilings. Admitadly both rooms had the lovely lake view we had requested, and, of course paid for but that was it that's where any similarity ends. The reception and bar are decorated excellently but as the carpet colour changed and we went to the 1970s-esq chalet at the back of the hotel (we felt a tent would have less condensation and spiders!) Several other guests were confused,complained and remarked on the chalet at the back. Aside of this, the staff were generally good bar one who did not understand nor speak English. The swimming pool is dated and dirty but the bar reasonable so 2 extremes of 'watering' facilities as well as hotel areas. Great location for shops and the lake. Breakfast is much to be desired, not a good start to the day, cold, limited. All in all we would never stay there again. This was verbalised to the receptionist on leaving as we would be concerned that we would pay so much and expect a decent room and scarily be put in the chalet add on at the back of the house. Although we were told they are undergoing refurbishment we have since found out a colleague who stayed there 5 years ago was told the same and experienced the same. Regrettable. Never again. The tale is not a good tale, a shame.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Helen B

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

The hotel has completed it's first phase refurbishment last April with 25 rooms and suites fully refurbished, with plans to continue the full refurbishment within the next 12 months.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

These people who rave about this hotel want to go look at rooms facing back of the hotel ie room 6, it’s dated, tv is all of 14” bathroom you can clean your teeth while sat on the loo really is miserable. we asked on arrival for a change of room but was told they were full, my theory is they couldn’t care less seeing as tho we had already paid in advance so all you who got a refurbed room you was lucky, my advice is check before you stay, their web site saying the hotel had a total refurb this is totally misleading needless to say we won’t be recommending this hotel to anyone check before you stay to save disappointment

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank cowdroy_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear cowdroy_michael

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay.

The details on the hotel website are clear and we currently have 25 rooms and suites fully refurbished with the aim to refurbish all remaining rooms within the next 12 months.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with friends.Hotel clean and tidy.Friendly staff.Location is ideal.
Negatives are the small size of the double room and ridiculously small bathroom(even though there isn't a bath.. shower only).Breakfast is good but the small plates provided are ridiculous.
Overall a good place to use as a base and reasonably priced.Would I stay again...yes probably but would ask for a bigger room.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank malcolmr179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Malcolm R

Thank you for your review following your recent stay and thank you for the lovely comments and for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Terrible room like something from the 1970 ,complained and second room not much better than the first ,told had been refurbished ,but not all rooms ,paid 108 pounds but not worth this amount money .Room paint coming off window inside and out ,chair in room covered in old paint spots ,ceiling also had paint coming off .Shower mould in the bottom.Televsion old square box that didn’t work .Manager offered free drink as apology .No other rooms available .Wish had read reviews before going .Beds clean ,dumped bags and went out .Hotel very noisy during the night people shouting .Breakfast poor , continental lump cheese in a packet a roll that’s your choice .

Room tip: Get one that’s not from1970,poor value for price paid .
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 379Eastenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H, Managing Director at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear 379Eastenders

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

I appreciate the feedback as the team work hard to ensure we offer a good service to all of our guests.

Best wishes

Jodi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews