We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
78
8
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
8
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews few minutes walk a lovely stay shops restaurants home from home lakes
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This beautiful home from home situated in the heart of Bowness and a stone throw from Windemere is the perfect base for all adventures in the lakes.
We first stayed here in August 2013 and have been back every year without fail. Georgie and Mark who run Sandown are amazingly welcoming natural hosts and very soon felt like old friends. Being locals you won't be sort of advice on beautiful walks for all levels of experience and things to see all the family can enjoy.
Be it an enchanting romantic getaway or a fun family adventure, you'll find everything and more at the Sandown to write some amazing lake district memories.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank orange566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownWindermere, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

It was a pleasure welcoming you back for the 4th year in a row and we are so happy you had another great stay, as always it was lovely to see you. Thanks for leaving your review and we will see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I had read the reports about damp in some rooms, but also saw the replies that this had been sorted.
We had a great week at Sandown, the house was roomy, comfortable and clean, great location as we could park all our cars and we all had our own bathrooms so that was great.
Read the reviews about damp but we didn’t see any the house was very clean, we did get an email explaining there had been a change of cleaning team so to report any issues but we could find anything. So the new team are doing a great job.
We had stayed here when it was a B&B, but I think it's better now that you have the whole house. We went with a couple of friends and love the fact that this place is so close to all that Bowness has to offer..
We even had great sunny weather although cold but all in all had a great week and got out and about every day. Hopefully we will be back in the Spring when it might be a bit warmer!

We stay in rental properties in many places and this is up with the best.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownWindermere, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for leaving your review and being so honest we are delighted that the new cleaning team are coming up to our standards as we felt so let down by the previous company so its nice to hear that they are doing what they are paid to do. So glad you had a comfortable stay again and a good time and we will of course be looking forward to seeing you again hopefully next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This house is in a very good location close to the Lake Shops Restaurants. Bus stops outside. The rooms are very damp the walls are black in a couple of the bedrooms in bedroom 3 when we moved the bed the wall was black with damp this needs sorting out asap. The kitchen needs an update and additional crockery & cutlery Towels are very small and again not enough for a week had to keep washing them. My 1 year old Granddaughter became ill and has a chest infection, her travel cot & covers were always damp had to sleep in with here parents.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank 68margaret47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

It is very unfortunate indeed that a few guests staying in Sandown in September had a problem outlined by this guest above; as the owners of Sandown we apologise profusely to those guests and we can assure any future guests that this is no longer an issue.

Although some guests had seen this problem and they have our direct contact number unfortunately it was only reported to us by 1 set of guests (those who actually posted their review previous to this review even though they stayed later than this guest), so were only aware of this once it was reported. Once we able to check the house it was clear that the local commercial cleaning company we were using had let their standards slip to the point that mildew (not damp) was appearing behind the beds as they were not cleaning the house to the required standards and their managers were not doing spot checks, however, once this this was brought to our attention we ensured that the house had a thorough deep clean and the problem was sorted out immediately. Suffice to say that this cleaning company are no longer involved with Sandown and instead we are using our own cleaning team and are using our own bedding and towels. We can therefore assure any future guests that Sandown bedrooms no longer have any mildew issues and house has been restored back to its good standard.

On the other few points: The booking information states that we provide 1 x standard size hand towel & 1 x standard size bath towel per person which is standard across all holiday accommodation so should guests feel they require more and are not wishing to wash and dry them we would recommend bringing extra with them. The kitchen in Sandown was put in a 4 years ago and we cannot see that is shows that much sign of wear but the advertising images are very representational of how the kitchen so guests are able to decide if is suitable for them. It is well equipped for 7 people, we are not sure how much crockery & cutlery is normal but we provide enough to service a 3 course meal for 7.

Again apologies to any guests who had any issues at Sandown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Great location ! Lacked in cleanliness through out the house . Various rooms were damp in the building which caused some members of the group to be ill especially with children in the house . The kitchen needed addition or new facilities .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Although we are very sorry indeed and apologise profusely to the few guests staying in Sandown in September who had some issues, before we post a full explanation as we have done on the other review about this issue, as the owner of Sandown we feel it is important to mention that is was actually these guests who informed us about the issue, this had not been done by any other guests which given the issue is surprising.
When we asked to attend the house to see the problem so we could sort things we were asked not to attend until they had returned from their day which ended up being 6pm on the Saturday evening, within the hour of going to see them we had moved them all to another house (no charges involved naturally) and we issued them with a full refund immediately that same night; they told us that they were happy with the house and refund and for dealing with things so quickly and that under the circumstances they would leave the matter with us. So it is very disappointing not to see in this review that none of what we did, once we knew about the problem is mentioned. Also it was quite sad that they felt it necessary to leave the house we moved them into in a very questionable state indeed; quite a shock to see curry in so many unexpected places.

To explain about the problem, once we were able to thoroughly check the house that same weekend it was clear that the local commercial cleaning company we were using had let their standards slip to the point that mildew (not damp) was appearing behind the beds as they were not cleaning the house to the required standards and their managers were not doing spot checks, however, once this this was brought to our attention we ensured that the house had a thorough deep clean and the problem was sorted out immediately.

Suffice to say that this cleaning company are no longer involved with Sandown and instead we are using our own cleaning team and are using our own bedding and towels. We can therefore assure any future guests that Sandown bedrooms no longer have any mildew issues and house has been restored back to its good standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Visited with friends, very central location only 10 mins down to the lake. You can hear quite a bit of outside noise when in bed but it wasn't too much of a problem. The bedroom was not overly large but the bed was so comfy you did not want to get up.

Room Tip: It is self catering.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TeamAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews